Tap here to go to the mobile version of the site.
Your Firefox is out of date and may contain a security risk! Upgrade Firefox

Support Forum

Why are my webpages transferring data from www.chaosserver.com?


In the bottom left hand corner of the web page, instead of showing'transferring data from www.eclswansea.com, it now shows 'transferring data from www.chaosserver.com. Why is this? When loading the same pages in Internet Explorer I only see 'transferring data from www.eclswansea.com

Chosen solution

Chaosserver.com is part of this company: http://www.chaossoftware.com/

Does that ring any bells?

Read this answer in context 0

Additional System Details

This happened

Every time Firefox opened

This started when...

Wednesday 11/5/11

Installed Plug-ins

  • getplusplusadobe16248
  • Office Plugin for Netscape Navigator
  • np-mswmp
  • Adobe PDF Plug-In For Firefox and Netscape
  • The QuickTime Plugin allows you to view a wide variety of multimedia content in Web pages. For more information, visit the QuickTime Web site.
  • Default Plug-in
  • Shockwave Flash 10.2 r159
  • Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version
  • iTunes Detector Plug-in
  • 4.0.60310.0
  • Office Live Update v1.3
  • Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF) plug-in for Mozilla browsers
  • Java Plug-in 1.6.0_11 for Netscape Navigator (DLL Helper)
  • Java(TM) Platform SE binary


  • User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-GB; rv: Gecko/20110420 Firefox/3.6.17 (.NET CLR 3.5.30729)

More Information

Xircal 334 solutions 3835 answers

Chaosserver.com is not a malware domain if that's what you're worried about.

It's possible that eclswansea has some sort of agreement with them to handle certain data when you visit their site.

If you're concerned about malware, download the free version of Malwarebytes from http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/malwarebytes_free and then run a full system scan.

Incidentally, the version of Java you have installed is a security risk. Update via http://www.java.com/en/

Question owner

Hi, Thanks for your reply. I am the administrator of eclswansea, and have no agreement with chaosserver.com. I have contacted my host server who also have no agreement with chaos server. Could this be a hack?

Xircal 334 solutions 3835 answers

Chosen Solution

Chaosserver.com is part of this company: http://www.chaossoftware.com/

Does that ring any bells?

Question owner

Thank you. Yes, apaarently the clock on the website originates from part of chaossoftware. Thanl you for your help

Xircal 334 solutions 3835 answers

You're welcome.

gavagai 0 solutions 2 answers

I have the same problem (long response times pof Firefox because it is always communicating with chaosserver.com). What bells am I missing?