Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Firefox Sync keeps restoring my deleted bookrmarks

  • 2 replies
  • 0 have this problem
  • 6 views
  • Last reply by tlwu2008

more options

Dear Firefox Team,

I am using Firefox in two laptops, one Win10 and one Win11. My situation is as the following:

1. Bookmarks in two laptops have already been synced. 2. On laptop1 I login Firefox, delete some bookmarks, and sync. 3. On laptop2 I login Firefox, sync, then all my deleted bookmarks are restored in laptop2. (4. If I login Firefox on laptop1 later, deleted bookmarks come back too.)

I expect 3. not to happen because I expect Firefox uses data modified time to decide which is the latest. However the above situation keeps happening.

Could you please guide me how to not restored deleted bookmarks? Thank you.

Dear Firefox Team, I am using Firefox in two laptops, one Win10 and one Win11. My situation is as the following: 1. Bookmarks in two laptops have already been synced. 2. On laptop1 I login Firefox, delete some bookmarks, and sync. 3. On laptop2 I login Firefox, sync, then all my deleted bookmarks are restored in laptop2. (4. If I login Firefox on laptop1 later, deleted bookmarks come back too.) I expect 3. not to happen because I expect Firefox uses data modified time to decide which is the latest. However the above situation keeps happening. Could you please guide me how to not restored deleted bookmarks? Thank you.

Chosen solution

Do you disconnect (logout) in between as loging in again will cause an initial Sync ?

You can use a password reset to clear all data stored on the Sync server.

Read this answer in context 👍 1

All Replies (2)

more options

Chosen Solution

Do you disconnect (logout) in between as loging in again will cause an initial Sync ?

You can use a password reset to clear all data stored on the Sync server.

Helpful?

more options

Yes, as you mentioned, I found that loging in again will push all bookmarks of this computer onto the cloud even if some has been deleted and synced from the other computer. This solved my issue. Thank you!

Helpful?

Ask a question

You must log in to your account to reply to posts. Please start a new question, if you do not have an account yet.