This thread was archived. Please ask a new question if you need help.
Prevent private tabs from being recovered.
I understand that browsing data of a private window is kept in memory as long as it exists. Is there a way to prevent this? I would like to close a tab and not be able to recover it. As a workaround I have found that I can move a tab to a new private window and close that window. But this is very cumbersome. Deleting browsing history also does not work, which does work in normal mode: I can close a tab in normal mode, delete the browsing history, and then I'm not able to recover the tab.
All Replies (3)
You might want to read up about what PB is.
If you do not want to reopen closed tabs or clear the tab undo list then you can set this pref to 0 about:config, either permanently or only temporarily (set to 0 and reset the pref to re-enable this feature).
- browser.sessionstore.max_tabs_undo - default = 10
max_tabs_undo is interesting. Unfortunately, it affects normal mode as well as private mode. I only want this to affect the private mode. I wasn't particularly clear about that in my initial post.
I do not understand how the kb article is relevant.