Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

What is the difference between "Delete this Page" and "Forget About This Site"?

  • 3 replies
  • 1 has this problem
  • 976 views
  • Last reply by cor-el

more options

In the browsing history there are two options:

"Delete This Page"

and

"Forget About This Site"

What is the difference between them?

Don't they both erase all records of the website?

If I understand correctly "Forget About This Site" is no different than clearing all history except it clears all history for an individual website

Is this correct?

Thanks in advance!

Modified by Mikurotoro

Chosen solution

Delete this page from history only removes it from the browsing history.

Using "Forget About This Site" will remove all data stored in Firefox from this domain like history and cookies and passwords and exceptions and cache, so be cautious. If you have a password or other data from that domain that you do not want to lose then make sure to backup this data or make a note.

You can't recover from this 'forget' unless you have a backup of involved files.

If you revisit a 'forgotten' website then data from that website will be saved once again.

Read this answer in context 👍 0

All Replies (3)

more options
more options

Oh, just to make sure you know 52.9.0 is the last version for XP. https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/organizations/all/#legacy Do not update to the 60 versions as you will have problems as it is made for Windows 7.8,10

more options

Chosen Solution

Delete this page from history only removes it from the browsing history.

Using "Forget About This Site" will remove all data stored in Firefox from this domain like history and cookies and passwords and exceptions and cache, so be cautious. If you have a password or other data from that domain that you do not want to lose then make sure to backup this data or make a note.

You can't recover from this 'forget' unless you have a backup of involved files.

If you revisit a 'forgotten' website then data from that website will be saved once again.