Reset Firefox - easily fix most problems.

This article is no longer maintained, so its content might be out of date.

If you're having problems with Firefox, resetting it can help. The reset feature fixes many issues by restoring Firefox to its factory default state while saving your essential information like bookmarks and open tabs.

Reset Firefox to its default state

  1. Click the menu button New Fx Menu and then click help Help-29 .
  2. From the Help menu choose Troubleshooting Information.
    If you're unable to access the Help menu, type about:support in your address bar to bring up the Troubleshooting Information page.
  3. Click the Refresh Firefox button in the upper-right corner of the Troubleshooting Information page.
    Refresh 35 Win Refresh 35 Mac Refresh 35 Lin
  4. To continue, click Refresh Firefox in the confirmation window that opens.
  5. Firefox will close to refresh itself. When finished, a window will list your imported information. Click Finish and Firefox will open.
Note: There's also a Refresh Firefox button in the Firefox Safe Mode window, if you can't start Firefox normally. If you are unable to find the Refresh Firefox button on your version of Firefox, you can also do a manual refresh by creating a new profile. See instructions on how to create a new profile.

What does the reset feature do?

All of your Firefox settings and personal information are stored in a profile folder. The reset feature works by creating a new profile folder for you while saving your important data.

Firefox will save these things:

  • Bookmarks
  • Browsing history
  • Passwords
  • Cookies
  • Web form auto-fill information
  • Personal dictionary
  • Bookmarks
  • Browsing history
  • Passwords
  • Open windows, tabs and tab groups
  • Cookies
  • Web form auto-fill information
  • Personal dictionary

These items and settings will be removed:

Note: Your old Firefox profile will be placed on your desktop in a folder named "Old Firefox Data." If the reset didn't fix your problem you can restore some of the information not saved by copying files to the new profile that was created. If you don't need this folder any longer, you should delete it as it contains sensitive information.

 

These fine people helped write this article: jsavage. You can help too - find out how.