Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

How to stop pop up asking to purge when I send message to JUNK (not trash)

more options

WIth a recent update, thunderbird now puts an annoying pop up almost every time I click on the "junk" icon of a new message to send it to the junk folder. The pop up offers to purge messages from the disk, and gives "proceed" or "cancel" options. It also offers a check box to not ask again and do it automatically.

I know how to compact folders and do it on my own as needed (and through the setting for doing that automaticallywhen too much space is being used).

I've read the other thread in which it was explained that this "purging" does not delete messages from trash, but that does not tell me whether it deletes messages from the Junk folder.

I do not want any messages ever deleted automatically - I sometime need to go back and check junk or trash messages.

1) does the "purge" function delete any messages from any folders (in particular from junk or trash)? 2) how do I stop the annoying pop up asking me to "proceed" or "cancel" purging each time I click the "junk" icon to move a message to the junk folder?

Thank you very much for any help!

BTW, if "purging" through the pop up is not deleting any messages, and is just compacting folders, then the pop up is very poorly worded.

Chosen solution

This prompt has nothing do with Trash or Junk - although it does often pop up after deleting or marking a message as Junk.

Purge is an fortunate choice of words, but the process behind that prompt does not delete messages. So it is perfectly appropriate to mark the checkbox, and click proceed so that you never see the prompt again.

Read this answer in context 👍 1

All Replies (5)

more options

TO clarify - I don't want messages sent to junk or trash automatically deleted (by a purge or compacting function). I delete those messages periodically after reviewing those folders periodically to be sure there's nothing in them by mistake or oversight.

Is purging another word for compacting? If not, how are they different?

Thank you again!!

Helpful?

more options

Chosen Solution

This prompt has nothing do with Trash or Junk - although it does often pop up after deleting or marking a message as Junk.

Purge is an fortunate choice of words, but the process behind that prompt does not delete messages. So it is perfectly appropriate to mark the checkbox, and click proceed so that you never see the prompt again.

Helpful?

more options

Wayne

Thank you very much!

Helpful?

more options

I understand that it doesn't delete the messages, but where are they stored, and how do I stop the pop-up message.

Helpful?

more options

ejwallis1950 said

I understand that it doesn't delete the messages, but where are they stored,

By default, in your trash folder

ejwallis1950 said

and how do I stop the pop-up message.

Follow the instructions of the dialog. 1. mark the check box 2. click proceed

Helpful?

Ask a question

You must log in to your account to reply to posts. Please start a new question, if you do not have an account yet.