Windows 10 reached EOS (end of support) on October 14, 2025. If you are on Windows 10, see this article.

Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More
Archived

Firefox sync has wiped all my data!!!

JustinN

My laptop's disk crashed, so I've just installed a new one, and thought "OK great, I have Firefox Sync, it'll have my passwords and bookmarks saved". Did it hell!? I used to use a plugin for syncing my passwords and bookmarks, which worked beautifully, but it stopped running after Sync came out. Now Firefox Sync has seemed to have deleted ALL of my bookmarks and passwords because I did not have a "sync key". How do I request my data to be restored? There was a LOT of information stored in there that I NEED! Please can somebody provide me with a solution, I'm happy to pay an admin fee or whatever it is just to restore this information.


- Justin

My laptop's disk crashed, so I've just installed a new one, and thought "OK great, I have Firefox Sync, it'll have my passwords and bookmarks saved". Did it hell!? I used to use a plugin for syncing my passwords and bookmarks, which worked beautifully, but it stopped running after Sync came out. Now Firefox Sync has seemed to have deleted ALL of my bookmarks and passwords because I did not have a "sync key". How do I request my data to be restored? There was a LOT of information stored in there that I NEED! Please can somebody provide me with a solution, I'm happy to pay an admin fee or whatever it is just to restore this information. - Justin

All Replies (1)

Hi JustinN,

I'm sorry to read that you had issues with your hard drive and that it caused a reset of your Sync account.

Unfortunately Sync is not a back-up system and it's main purpose is to synchronize your data across devices not to store it. To ensure this is done in a secure way the system uses a key that you only know. It's vital that you keep a copy (i.e. a back up) of this key to ensure that you would have access if anything happens to your main device (i.e. your laptop).

Once you have reset your account you have literally deleted all the information under the previous key. This is performed for security reasons, to avoid anyone accessing your private date, and it can't be undone.

I'll encourage you to back up all your important information either in a cloud service or in a different physical device (i.e. dvds, portable hard-drives, etc).