Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Syncing Question

  • 2 replies
  • 1 has this problem
  • 62 views
  • Last reply by cor-el

more options

I have a Firefox account. I signed out of my account and then signed in with my 90 yr. old father's Firefox login since he had a question about storing passwords. Now when I'm signed in as him, all of my personal logins and passwords are in his account. When he signs in at his home, will he see my personal logins? If so, how do I ensure my personal info is completely deleted from his account?

One other question: He wants Firefox to remember his Gmail address, but wants to manually type in his Gmail password. Is there any way to do this? The only options I could find were to delete both his login and password or remember both his login and password.

All Replies (2)

more options
  1. Yes, probably he will see your logins. Please read Delete sync data from Firefox by signing out of Firefox Accounts.
  2. Google usually remembers login. So only password is to type, when not saved.
more options

Note that you should always use a separate profile when you connect to another Sync account, especially if this is not your own device or if you are on anther device to avoid mixing data.

Best is to create a backup of logins.json and key4.db in the profile folder and copy these two files to a new profile. Make sure that you aren't connected to sync in the original profile to either Sync account. You can then remove all your own logins in the second profile connected to your father's Sync account, so they are no longer on the Sync server and won't show on your father's computer.

See "Creating a profile":

If your own Sync account already has your father's logins then you will have to remove those from your original profile and only keep your own logins.

Like I already wrote, make sure you have a backup of logins.json and key4.db, so you can retry by restoring these two files if you would lose your own logins during the cleanup.