Windows 10 reached EOS (end of support) on October 14, 2025. If you are on Windows 10, see this article.

Kërkoni te Asistenca

Shmangni karremëzime gjoja asistence. S’do t’ju kërkojmë kurrë të bëni një thirrje apo të dërgoni tekst te një numër telefoni, apo të na jepni të dhëna personale. Ju lutemi, raportoni veprimtari të dyshimtë duke përdorur mundësinë “Raportoni Abuzim”.

Mësoni Më Tepër
Solved

Firefox not removing some local data - Google can still remember account

jbr replied
mj.italicize500

In a Private tab in strict mode (on Linux), I log into my Google account, then log out, clear all the cookies and cached data (Settings -> Privacy & Security -> Cookies and Site Data -> Clear Data -> tick all the boxes and clear everything), open a new private tab, go to the gmail website and it still remembers my account. However, if I quit Firefox and re-open it, then Google no longer remembers the account.

What information is deleted when I quit Firefox that is not deleted when I manually clear the cookies/cache/local data? Does anyone know why Google can still remember my account when I manually clear all the browsing data but not after I quit Firefox?

Thank you!

In a Private tab in strict mode (on Linux), I log into my Google account, then log out, clear all the cookies and cached data (Settings -> Privacy & Security -> Cookies and Site Data -> Clear Data -> tick all the boxes and clear everything), open a new private tab, go to the gmail website and it still remembers my account. However, if I quit Firefox and re-open it, then Google no longer remembers the account. What information is deleted when I quit Firefox that is not deleted when I manually clear the cookies/cache/local data? Does anyone know why Google can still remember my account when I manually clear all the browsing data but not after I quit Firefox? Thank you!

Krejt Përgjigjet (5)

Zgjidhja e Zgjedhur

Yes, clearing data removes things from disk — whereas private mode only keeps the sessions in memory — which means your clearing of data while in PBM basically cleans your non–PBM data, and PBM only removes that upon exit/burn.

I added some test results in bugzilla.mozilla.org/2013262 for explanation.

What is PBM? Private Browsing Mode?

And how is that related to "Never remember history" mentioned in http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/2013262? Do they both result in keeping sessions in memory?

Thank you!

Private Browsing Mode. "Never remember history" is permanent Private Browsing Mode, so basically the same case as you're seeing.

Awesome, thank you! Are there plans to allow clearing PBM data without closing Firefox?

Oh I think I linked to some of the more meta bugs in my posts, sorry, I reckon it's basically tracked via bugzilla.mozilla.org/1751045 — which is something that would be nice to have. However the subject matter expert mentioned in couple of similar bug timelines that the lift is pretty big and the change non–trivial — given there are no "quota" management and sanitization principles and API foundations available per se for the in–memory Private Browsing Mode, simply based on the fact the PBM sessions were designed to be ephemeral.

So yes, this might be waiting for the perfect storm of multiple similar features that might warrant a change and the sanitization additions, but the underpinnings are not there yet.

Bëni një pyetje

Duhet të bëni hyrjen te llogaria juaj që t’i përgjigjeni postimeve. Ju lutemi, filloni me një pyetje të re, nëse s’keni ende një llogari.