Søg i Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

How do I access older sync points with the new sync?

more options

After getting a new computer, downloading firefox, and signing into my account, none of my saved bookmarks or add-ons have synced from my previous computer. Instead, the sync seems to have just saved the fresh version of firefox with no data.


How can I access an older sync point so as to restore the older data for bookmarks and addons?

Valgt løsning

There are no "older sync points" - only one set of data is on the Sync server.

Sync is not a 'storage cloud', it is intended to store one data set for synchronizing across multiple devices. Your data should still be on the older device; and you can connect back to Sync with that device to "recover" your data to the server using the current Sync password.

As far as losing the data that was on the Sync server from your old device originally, that can happen when a Password reset is done. That data becomes useless when the account Password is changed; that data was encrypted based upon the Password - a different Password wouldn't be able to decrypt the saved data, rendering that data useless to anyone. Therefore the Sync server wipes the old, useless data to allow the user to continue using that Sync account and / or clear out corrupted data for a clean start with that Sync account.

Læs dette svar i sammenhæng 👍 2

Alle svar (1)

more options

Valgt løsning

There are no "older sync points" - only one set of data is on the Sync server.

Sync is not a 'storage cloud', it is intended to store one data set for synchronizing across multiple devices. Your data should still be on the older device; and you can connect back to Sync with that device to "recover" your data to the server using the current Sync password.

As far as losing the data that was on the Sync server from your old device originally, that can happen when a Password reset is done. That data becomes useless when the account Password is changed; that data was encrypted based upon the Password - a different Password wouldn't be able to decrypt the saved data, rendering that data useless to anyone. Therefore the Sync server wipes the old, useless data to allow the user to continue using that Sync account and / or clear out corrupted data for a clean start with that Sync account.