Tap here to go to the mobile version of the site.
Your Firefox is out of date and may contain a security risk! Upgrade Firefox

Support Forum

I was asked to install a plugin for hd from the website www://s1hd-plugin.com is this malware?



This is the homepage from which I am asked to download the following Plugin: otherx.zip

I read somewhere, that that would be malware. For the whole Flash-Problem doesn't seem to be solved and I unfortunately need to use flash for www.home-away.com, I am concerned.

If I go through Firefox Extras Plugins, I can not find that one, which makes me wonder why I would be asked to install a zip-File, which I can not get through Firefox directly.

Please answer!



Additional System Details

Installed Plug-ins

  • Shockwave Flash 11.5 r502
  • Displays Java applet content, or a placeholder if Java is not installed.
  • Mit dem QuickTime Plug-in können Sie eine Vielzahl von Multimedia-Inhalten auf Webseiten anzeigen. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf der Web-Site für QuickTime.
  • View PDF documents within your web browser.
  • The Google Earth Plugin allows you to view 3D imagery and terrain in your web browser.
  • DivX Web Player version
  • Picasa plugin.
  • iPhoto6
  • Office Live Update v1.0


  • User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.7; rv:18.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/18.0

More Information

  • Top 10 Contributor
416 solutions 4931 answers

Helpful Reply

Don't go with other website plugins..

We prefer addons.mozilla.org plugins only

Question owner

I prefer that too, but how come, that every time I go on a certain page, a yellow line rolls in, that asks me to install that plugin.

How do I get rid of that? It is annoying and seems to be that way to make me install the plugin.

And I asked a specific question about a specific plugin from a certain developer. Is it known by Mozilla to be malware or not?

Would you please look into it?

I attached the above mentioned yellow line as a graphic. I also wanted to make a screenshot of the download window, which didn't work.

When I went to "Install the plugin" it used to open a download window with the .zip file. Now it says the URL is not found. Was that you?



webuser88 1 solutions 2 answers

Helpful Reply

That "install missing plugin" message is not generated by your browser's plugin manager. That is a perposefully deceptive advertisement and should be reported to the maintainer of your preferred adblock list.