Private browsing lets you browse without saving your history, cookies or passwords. Bookmarks and downloaded files will still be saved.
Private browsing lets you browse without saving your history, cookies or passwords. Firefox also deletes private tabs when you leave Private Browsing or quit the app by default. Bookmarks, downloaded files and changes you make while signed in to websites are still saved.
Table of Contents
Switch between regular and private browsing
- Tap the numeric tab icon at the bottom of the screen.
- Tap Private at the top/bottom center of the screen, depending on your version of iOS and Firefox.
- To switch back to regular browsing, tap Tabs again.
Know when you’re in private browsing mode
You’re in private browsing mode if:
- The tabs icon shows a purple mask.
The private browsing interface also uses a darker color theme to help distinguish private tabs from regular tabs.
Open and close private tabs
After switching to private browsing mode:
- To open a new private tab, tap the plus button.
- To close a private tab, tap in the tab preview.
- Note: Private tabs close automatically when you leave private browsing or quit the app by default. To disable this, go to Firefox Settings and turn off Close Private Tabs under Privacy.
- To open a link in a private tab, tap and hold the link until the menu opens, then choose .
FAQ
Can I make private browsing the default in Firefox for iOS?
No. Firefox for iOS doesn’t currently support launching in private browsing mode by default. You’ll need to switch manually each time.
Does private browsing block all tracking?
No. Private Browsing prevents Firefox from saving your local browsing data, such as your browsing history, cookies and searches after your session ends, but it doesn't block all online tracking.
Why can’t I find the private browsing option?
If you don’t see the mask icon, make sure you’re on the tab view screen. The mask only appears in tab view, not while a webpage is open.
If you're using an older version of Firefox for iOS, update to the latest version to ensure the interface matches the steps in this article.
What information is still visible while using Private Browsing?
Private Browsing prevents Firefox from saving your browsing history, cookies and passwords from your private session, but it does not hide your activity from:
- Websites you visit
- Your internet service provider
- Your employer or school (if you're using a managed network or device)
- The network you're connected to
If you sign in to a website during a private browsing session, the website can still recognize your account until you sign out.
Bookmarks and downloaded files that you save are also kept after you close your private tabs.