搜尋 Mozilla 技術支援網站

防止技術支援詐騙。我們絕對不會要求您撥打電話或發送簡訊,或是提供個人資訊。請用「回報濫用」功能回報可疑的行為。

Learn More

Double padding in bookmarks menu AGAIN - imposed without thinking!

  • 23 回覆
  • 2 有這個問題
  • 105 次檢視
  • 最近回覆由 Kymber

more options

After the update that changed the bookmarks menu spacing in the most unhelpful way, I have reduced this stupid double padding between the folders with a hack - an now with the current update to 91.0.2 - it is back on!!???

Whose idiotic idea it was without giving us the OPTION of single OR double padding??

Why do we have to look online for the hacks and workarounds to remove this most idiotic and controlling change??

Please bring the single padding back NOW or I will completely switch to Chrome or simply will stop updating firefox!

You will NOT control how many folders and bookmarks I can see in my top menu bookmarks - and this idiotic double padding has removed half of them from my menu!!!

所有回覆 (20)

more options

In my frustration about your self-serving lack of thinking I forgot to ask my question:

HOW in about:config I can CHANGE this double padding to single padding as it was before?

I have changed both browser.proton.contextmenus.enabled and browser.proton.enabled to FALSE but it didn't change the padding (like it did before).

Please provide the required change ASAP. I want to see ALL My bookmark folders not the number YOU want me to see in my browser.

if you don't provide this and don't REMOVE this stupid, idiotic double padding without the OPTION for US, the USERS to set a single padding if we choose to - I'm leaving you for good.

I have already deleted firefox from my phone.

有幫助嗎?

more options

In Firefox 91+ you can no longer disable Proton and revert changes that come with this design via "browser.proton.enabled = false" on the about:config page. Best in Firefox 91 is to set browser.proton.enabled to its default value true as the false setting can cause issues with checkboxes.

You can use code in userChrome.css to modify the menu spacing.


menupopup > menuitem, menupopup > menu {
padding-block: 2px !important; /*adjust: 0px-4px*/
min-height: 22px !important; /*adjust: 21px-24px or unset*/
}

*|*:root {--arrowpanel-menuitem-padding: 2px 8px !important;}

It is not that difficult to create userChrome.css if you have never used it.

The first step is to open the "Help -> Troubleshooting Information" page and find the button to access the profile folder.

You can find the button to go to the profile folder under the "Application Basics" section as "Profile Folder -> Open Folder". If you click this button then you open the profile folder in the Windows File Explorer. You need to create a folder with the name chrome in this folder (name is all lowercase). In the chrome folder you need to create a plain text file with the name userChrome.css (name is case sensitive). In this userChrome.css text file you paste the text posted. On Mac you can use the TextEdit utility to create the userChrome.css file as a plain text file.

In Windows saving the file is usually the only time things get more complicated because Windows can silently add a .txt file extension and you end up with a file named userChrome.css.txt. To avoid this you need to make sure to select "All files" in the dialog to save the file in the text editor using "Save File as".

You need to close (Quit/Exit) and restart Firefox when you create or modify the userChrome.css file.

See also:

In Firefox 69 and later you need to set this pref to true on the about:config page to enable userChrome.css and userContent.css in the chrome folder.

  • toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets = true

由 cor-el 於 修改

有幫助嗎?

more options

thanks for your reply.

The key questions remain:

1. WHY did you change the padding to double (which is an accessibility feature) without giving the OPTION to have it either double or single? Not everyone requires wider spacing to read the screen and this severely limits the number of folders I can see on my screen - and I choose to have MANY. This indicates a narrow-minded thinking throwing the baby out with the bath water.

2. On top of that - Why did you remove this correction option in about:config which was very easy to do, leaving only a time consuming and lengthy process if changing the browser coding? This is a deliberate action indicating your want to control the user's behavior and what they can and can't see in their browser which has nothing to do with security or privacy which should be your only concerns.

I have much more important and urgent things to do than spending half a day on changing the coding in a browser to see all my bloody folders! I don't have the time to waste on this nor should I have to. I am not a developer and I don't do coding. If I can't adjust the browser to look the way I WANT in a simple and quick way e.g. in about:config - I will move on to Chrome, simple as that.

Could you answer my two questions please and confirm that you are going to restore single padding in the next update by giving us the CHOICE of single or double.

有幫助嗎?

more options

Hi

The spacing of menus was included in a general refresh of the user interface that was done (I believe) with the involvement of our Accessibility team.

An option was left in the configuration settings in the Firefox 89 update that was planned to be removed in the Firefox 91 update. This was left in purely for testing purposes and was due to be removed.

I hope that this helps.

有幫助嗎?

more options

HI

thanks for your reply, however it's not helpful.

as I said earlier, I understand that this is an accessibility feature and it is great that you have introduced it for people who need it.

My point is that you should still leave a single padding as an option for those who don't need double spacing.

You just said that it was due to be removed and it was. This doesn't answer my question WHY? You didn't explain why you have removed this option from about:config. WHY? why don't you want the users to have this option? Why does it bother you? There is no logical explanation.

I am not the only Firefox user complaining about this change - I have seen hundreds of such posts online - just google it and you will see for yourself.

I mean - did you create this browser for yourself to satisfy your IT urges or for people to use it? If hundreds and more people say they hate something - why do you insist on having it?? Don't you listen to your users to what THEY WANT?

seriously, you behave like Apple who arbitrarily make changes to the iphone as they like without having any consideration for the users whether they will like it or not.

please advise - Will you or will not return the OPTION of a single menu spacing and if not - exactly WHY NOT?

thanks

有幫助嗎?

more options

Hi,

The people who answer questions here, for the most part, are other users volunteering their time (like me), not Mozilla employees or Firefox developers. If you want to leave feedback for Firefox developers, you can go to the Firefox Help menu and select Submit Feedback... or use this link. Your feedback gets collected by a team of people who read it and gather data about the most common issues.

What you are looking for may be considered for inclusion in a future update, but until such time that it is you can also file a bug report or feature request. See File a bug report or feature request for Mozilla products for details.

有幫助嗎?

more options

I'm not seeking a new feature, but some common sense of not changing the user interface in a way that clearly doesn't suit the vast majority of users, with such views being clearly and loudly expressed all over the net.

I thought that people who moderate this forum, while not being Mozilla employees, have been given sufficient information and have sufficient knowledge about this browser to be able to address all the questions, including the reasons for removing some very useful features.

thank you for your time.

有幫助嗎?

more options

Thank you for your feedback.

有幫助嗎?

more options

magicpowers888 said

I'm not seeking a new feature, but some common sense of not changing the user interface in a way that clearly doesn't suit the vast majority of users, with such views being clearly and loudly expressed all over the net.

Hi magicpowers888, Would you mind sending us the data you based the statement "clearly doesn't suit the vast majority of users" on? So far, the majority of people like the new design, and according to the blog post at https://blog.mozilla.org/en/products/firefox/fresh-new-look-for-firefox/ the latest changes were based on user feedback.

有幫助嗎?

more options

I don't keep links or copies of all the posts I come across in my search online.

If I have seen 100 or more posts on the same topic, clearly the issue is not a one-off or specific to the particular preference of one user.

Which reminds me - I have also seen this topic on THIS forum. It was closed and not accepting more comments (?) but has over 100 "I have the same issue" marks. I didn't copy it but I'm sure that as moderator you are able to find it.

Anyway, I don't wish to continue this conversation as no one is prepared to actually answer my question and provide the rationale for your decision other than to say this is what we have decided and that's it - so please don't reply as at this point it's a circular argument which is a waste of my time.

由 magicpowers888 於 修改

有幫助嗎?

more options

magicpowers888 said

I don't keep links or copies of all the posts I come across in my search online. If I have seen 100 or more posts on the same topic, clearly the issue is not a one-off or specific to the particular preference of one user. Which reminds me - I have also seen this topic on THIS forum. It was closed and not accepting more comments (?) but has over 100 "I have the same issue" marks. I didn't copy it but I'm sure that as moderator you are able to find it.

Hi magicpowers888, Moderators have the same search tools as everyone else. I'm not able to find any such thread.

Anyway, I don't wish to continue this conversation as no one is prepared to actually answer my question and provide the rationale for your decision other than to say this is what we have decided and that's it - so please don't reply as at this point it's a circular argument which is a waste of my time.

The rationale for Mozilla's decision (remember that we are not Mozilla employees or developers ;) ) is that the latest changes were based on user feedback - see https://blog.mozilla.org/en/products/firefox/fresh-new-look-for-firefox/ Were you looking for something more specific?

有幫助嗎?

more options

I agree. The developers should not be imposing their views of how Firefox should work without taking the users into account. Do they have any idea what a bookmarks folder with a dozen sorted bookmarks in it looks like on a PC display?

No one wants to have to scroll every time they want to use a bookmark near the end of the alphabet.

I read that Firefox is starting to lose popularity. This sort of forced change may be a reason why.

有幫助嗎?

more options

Hi All, there is work under way to tighten up the bookmark menus that drop from the main and bookmarks toolbar. In Firefox 93 (next release), the optional Compact density setting will do that. Here's a preview from the "Developer Edition" (based on the beta test version of Firefox 93):

However, we don't expect that to release until early October.

有幫助嗎?

more options

I'm going to make an obvious suggestion and then shut up until the next debacle.

When something this user-affecting is going to be implemented, would the developers PLEASE hold off on the implementation until the "user doesn't want this" option can be implemented simultaneously?

Doing it this way ... implement change now, make users wait for next release to put in what is essentially an "opt-out" ... is a surefire way to get users to defect to other browsers. (Remember, we live in a world of instant gratification and when something happens to upset our ordered world, our first instinctive reaction is "screw this, I'll go find something that does what I want."

Please remember that next time you add an "improvement".

有幫助嗎?

more options

Hi Kymber, From your wording, I get the impression that you think you are directly contacting developers or Mozilla employees. You are not. This is a community support forum. The people that answer questions here are users just like you, volunteering their time.

If you want to leave feedback for Firefox developers, go to the Help menu and select Submit Feedback.

有幫助嗎?

more options

I am under no such delusion, but thank you for being helpful in case I was.  :)

My past contact with the developers via the feedback system has been far from satisfying and always has resulted in an impasse with my having to find a solution on my own. This is why I have the impression that they don't really think out the user impacts of their improvements.

Posting here at least puts my concerns out in public where more can see them, instead of the developers being able to dismiss them without any public disclosure. I feel that posting here, where others can comment, creates a situation where if the developers do somehow manage to come over here and read what we poor lowly end users actually experience as a result of their work, they will see the whole picture.

Experience tells me that the developers tend to exist in their own little world (in fact, my posts here are probably futile, but at least there's a chance of their seeing their negative impacts) and have a mindset of "look how wonderful these enhancements are ... of course all of the user base will love them!" Well, they're wrong and I use the support forum as a way to call them out in public.

But thank you for your concern. It's appreciated, really.

有幫助嗎?

more options

@jscher2000

it's good to see that finally someone is listening what the users want.

I have just updated to 92.0 - there is no such an option, though.

Why are you waiting for the 93.0 version which will come out in a month's time to include this tiny, simple, easy to add and requested by many users improvement?

We are not talking about a major new functionality or feature that requires a rebuilt of the whole structure.

The inclusion of the smaller padding in the dropdown menus option - or a Compact Density Option will take you 15 min, if that. I mean, it is already done in Beta.

So, is this some sort of gratuitous delay to watch us salivating and waiting for the big bang release of the major new version in which you want to pack as many goodies as possible, even those that should have never been removed?

Is this your strategy - to remove various useful and important customisation features to bring them back months later in a new big bang version release?...

Since you have already decided to bring it back, this improvement should be released in a minor update now, without delay.

Otherwise, this is only self-serving (you) instead of serving the users.

Can we see that? Yes, we can.

有幫助嗎?

more options

As my final comment I'd like to say this:

Yes, the browser is free to use. Yes, my comments may seem harsh to the bunch of volunteers and even paid staff. Yes, we all are doing as best we can.

But.

People can sense when the service offered is not fully focused on the user and the company behind it has a self-serving agenda. When this attitude affects the common sense and affects the user experience with the product - people get frustrated, even angry. And most likely they leave and go elsewhere.

Some food for thought.

有幫助嗎?

more options

magicpowers888 said

@jscher2000 ... Why are you waiting

Just to be clear, I don't work for Mozilla or have special influence on UI decisions.

有幫助嗎?

more options

Fair enough.

But this is the SUPPORT MOZILLA forum. If it is staffed only with volunteers and not Mozilla employees and developers, which means that all conversation here is just a waste of time as they can't actually ANSWER the users' questions because they don't have the required knowledge - what's the point?

If this forum is only one way collection of information for Mozilla and a "talk amongst yourselves" place - again, it's a waste of our time and it is useless.

I don't mean to be disrespectful but I'm not going to waste my breath and time on asking important questions on this forum only to hear - "I don't know, I don't work here".

seriously?....

What is the feedback/communication channel directly with the Mozilla DEVELOPERS? Why are they hiding from the users' scrutiny and direct support?

有幫助嗎?

  1. 1
  2. 2
問個問題

如果您還沒有帳號,您必須先 登入您的帳號 來回覆文章。請 開始一個新問題