Caută ajutor

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Acest fir de discuție a fost arhivat. Adresează o întrebare nouă dacă ai nevoie de ajutor.

Does deselecting an item in Firefox sync (such as history or passwords) remove that data from the server?

  • 2 răspunsuri
  • 1 are această problemă
  • 31 de vizualizări
  • Ultimul răspuns de the-edmeister

more options

When you go into Firefox sync and deselect an item currently syncing, such as history, does it remove that data from the server?

I only found one similar topic but this is not disconnecting from what I understand so perhaps the answer was about the old version of sync. This setting is stating you don't want to sync that data and is universal for the account. Deselecting history will deselect it on all devices/computers. Does it then remove that data from the sync servers? As of now (1/2016).

Capturi de ecran atașate

Toate răspunsurile (2)

more options

Hi

Yes. The data that moves through Sync is not permanently stored on a server.

If it is not retrieved through a Sync to another device, it will be deleted.

I hope this helps, but if not, please come back here and we can look into a different solution for you.

more options

Sorry, but I respectfully disagree. That setting isn't for all devices; it needs to be set that way on every device separately. I have used Sync on three devices, where two were setup for the same exact types of data to be sync'd and third device where I didn't Sync preferences or add-ons like with the other two devices where I did. And that setup worked fine.

I don't think that old, unused data will immediately be deleted from the Sync server even if no devices are using it right now. It will eventually disappear over time, but if you want it gone - NOW - it would be best if you changed your Firefox Account / Sync Password thru one device and then reconnect to the Sync server using that new Password on your other devices to get Sync in operation again on all the devices.

That is the only sure way to clear data from the Sync server; changing the Password clears all data from the server, because with the new Password that data can't be decrypted making it worthless. And remember, your data is still on all the devices.