Windows 10 reached EOS (end of support) on October 14, 2025. If you are on Windows 10, see this article.

Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More
Open

Firefox should not permanently delete profiles

Paul replied
Charlie Volow

TL;DR: I am dumb, but not an idiosyncratic web browser user, and it was too easy for me to accidentally permanently delete all of my browser data. Deleted profiles should be moved into system trash when deleted, not rm'd entirely.

I have never used "profiles" and somehow, after updating firefox, seemed to have created one. I have no interest in using the feature, and therefore went to delete the new profile and disable the feature. Somehow, I instead deleted the profile I had implicitly been using all along. I clicked too hastily through the warning about deleting files, because it simply did not occur to me that deleting something related to this net-new feature should clear all of my *old* data. My goal was to restore the experience I've had in firefox for years (without profiles), but because I failed to adapt to the new feature, I lost everything instead.

I apologize for maybe shouting into the void about this, but I am posting on the off chance that this will reach someone who's involved in the implementation of these features and can save some other dumb person like me from making the same dumb mistake. It's quite painful to suddenly lose years of accumulated bookmarks, extensions, history, etc. The easiest and least intrusive solution would be to always move profiles into system trash when they are deleted, and never permanently delete them.

TL;DR: I am dumb, but not an idiosyncratic web browser user, and it was too easy for me to accidentally permanently delete all of my browser data. Deleted profiles should be moved into system trash when deleted, not rm'd entirely. I have never used "profiles" and somehow, after updating firefox, seemed to have created one. I have no interest in using the feature, and therefore went to delete the new profile and disable the feature. Somehow, I instead deleted the profile I had implicitly been using all along. I clicked too hastily through the warning about deleting files, because it simply did not occur to me that deleting something related to this net-new feature should clear all of my *old* data. My goal was to restore the experience I've had in firefox for years (without profiles), but because I failed to adapt to the new feature, I lost everything instead. I apologize for maybe shouting into the void about this, but I am posting on the off chance that this will reach someone who's involved in the implementation of these features and can save some other dumb person like me from making the same dumb mistake. It's quite painful to suddenly lose years of accumulated bookmarks, extensions, history, etc. The easiest and least intrusive solution would be to always move profiles into system trash when they are deleted, and never permanently delete them.

All Replies (3)

I have never used "profiles" and somehow, after updating firefox, seemed to have created one.

There is always a profile. The first time you install one is created, but it is not default to create one when upgrading unless maybe the old one is really old. From what did you upgrade.

One the security of the profile a) you can always manually make a back up or use the inbuilt option to avoid such.

As for the using the trash can, yes this seems like an option, but that option is for manual deletion so wouldn't go well with application deletions as they have a world of their own :(

amoun said

As for the using the trash can, yes this seems like an option, but that option is for manual deletion so wouldn't go well with application deletions as they have a world of their own :(

I think this could be done programmatically. Gtk: https://docs.gtk.org/gio/method.File.trash.html macOS: https://developer.apple.com/documentation/foundation/filemanager/trashitem(at:resultingitemurl:)

I'm not sure about windows, but I would assume there is a way?

Another decent option would be to move the profile to a system tmp directory and include a recovery option, so it is only permanently deleted on restart. That would have solved the problem in my case.

To answer your question, I'm not sure which version of firefox I came from, but it wasn't that old -- for instance, I already had split view, which I think is a new feature. I think maybe there was some change that caused me to be prompted to create a profile where I had never been prompted to do so before, but honestly I'm not sure.

Hi,

The people who answer questions here, for the most part, are other users volunteering their time (like me), not Mozilla employees or developers. When a Mozilla employee jumps into a discussion, you'll see the Mozilla Staff label next to their name.

If you wish, you can leave feedback for developers on the Mozilla Connect website. Click the Firefox Menu Fx89menuButton button in the toolbar, click Help and select Share ideas and feedback…. Alternatively, you can use this link. Your feedback is collected by a team that reads it and gathers data on the most common issues.

You can also file a bug report or feature request. See File a bug report or feature request for Mozilla products for details.

Sual ver

You must log in to your account to reply to posts. Please start a new question, if you do not have an account yet.