Vyhľadajte odpoveď

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Dangerous upgrade

  • 4 odpovede
  • 1 má tento problém
  • 21 zobrazení
  • Posledná odpoveď od John99

more options

I keep getting a Firefox upgrade. Norton stops it, but is there anyway to block it? Here is the information from Norton

Filename: ack+hyhd.js.part Threat name: JS.DownloaderFull Path: c:\users\jane\appdata\local\temp\ack+hyhd.js.part



On computers as of  4/23/2017 at 9:09:22 PM

Last Used  4/23/2017 at 9:11:23 PM

Startup Item  No

Launched  No

Threat type: Virus. Programs that infect other programs, files, or areas of a computer by inserting themselves or attaching themselves to that medium.


ack+hyhd.js.part Threat name: JS.Downloader Locate

Very Few Users Fewer than 5 users in the Norton Community have used this file.

Very New This file was released less than 1 week  ago.

High This file risk is high.


Source: External Media

Source File: ack+hyhd.js.part


File Actions

File: c:\users\jane\appdata\local\temp\ ack+hyhd.js.part Removed ____________________________

File Thumbprint - SHA: e289442245e02e7824dc7e08e14a0ee077a11edc10f0a5192e4916b3e1a96013 File Thumbprint - MD5: 1428f1a2ae9cfa5a8dbf89a9bd435112

Všetky odpovede (4)

more options

if you mean a so called firefox-patch.js file from a random site claiming to have a urgent Firefox update.

This is not from Mozilla or the Firefox web browser as it is Fake. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/i-found-fake-firefox-update

The is due to malvertising Ads on some sites. If you keep getting this then a ad blocking extension like https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/ublock-origin/ can help.

more options

. Whenever you get a message / popup that software / files need to be updated;


While this may be a legitimate message, it could also be Malware or a Virus. Anytime you want or need to check for upgrades, go to the website of the True Owner of the program in question. For example, to check out Firefox, go to https://www.mozilla.org

You can report such a site at; http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/report_phish/ Google Report Phishing Page which is the same when done while on site by going to Help > Report Web Forgery

http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/legal/fraud-report/ Help us safeguard Mozilla’s trademarks by reporting misuse

For almost a year, an epidemic of Fake Update Notices have been popping up all over the place. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/forum-response-i-found-fake-firefox-update

more options

If it is a site serving the fake firefox-patch.js file there is no point reporting those sites since they are only used for a day or so in a disposable fashion so there is no point to tell people to do so as nobody else has done so for months now.

Also I already posted that I found a fake update link.

more options

I note Norton mentions the file is new less than a week old, so it may change on a regular basis, but the fact Norton , and presumably other security software identifies it as malware is good as many users will have protection against this.

Of course something like this has wide reach and even if only a small percentage of users have no active, or outdated, security software the bad guys could still affect millions of users.

These help article are some more general advice