Windows 10 reached EOS (end of support) on October 14, 2025. If you are on Windows 10, see this article.

חיפוש בתמיכה

יש להימנע מהונאות תמיכה. לעולם לא נבקש ממך להתקשר או לשלוח הודעת טקסט למספר טלפון או לשתף מידע אישי. נא לדווח על כל פעילות חשודה באמצעות האפשרות ״דיווח על שימוש לרעה״.

מידע נוסף
אשכול זה נסגר והועבר לארכיון. נא לשאול שאלה חדשה אם יש לך צורך בעזרה.
נעולה Archived

Backing Up Email Labels and Inbox

SuMo Bot

Hi all,

Recently, I backed up a very large number of emails from my gmail account into Thunderbird's local files using .mbox files and importexporttools. In the import process, I ended up with all of my labels, my inbox, and my sent mail. I am looking to save some space and delete my inbox and sent mail folders. However, I want to make sure that any emails that happen to be in both my inbox/sent and also one of my labels won't be deleted from my labels if I delete my inbox and sent mail. Thanks in advance for any help or advise you might have!

Hi all, Recently, I backed up a very large number of emails from my gmail account into Thunderbird's local files using .mbox files and importexporttools. In the import process, I ended up with all of my labels, my inbox, and my sent mail. I am looking to save some space and delete my inbox and sent mail folders. However, I want to make sure that any emails that happen to be in both my inbox/sent and also one of my labels won't be deleted from my labels if I delete my inbox and sent mail. Thanks in advance for any help or advise you might have!

כל התגובות (1)

Because gmail keeps only one copy of a message, the option for deleting should be 'Just mark it as deleted' in Account Settings, Server Settings.

https://support.google.com/mail/answer/78892?hl=en#zippy=%2Cthunderbird

Before you do any mass deletions, test with a few messages to make sure you're doing what is expected by gmail.

https://support.google.com/mail/thread/4933937/deleted-mails-are-still-in-all-mails-and-important-and-under-default-labels-like-updates?hl=en

This question has been locked because the original author has deleted their account. While you can no longer post new replies, the existing content remains available for reference.