Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Bookmark synchronisation

  • 3 replies
  • 1 has this problem
  • 7 views
  • Last reply by FredMcD

more options

Hey! I was wondering how the bookmark sync works like when I set it up; I have everything synced across my devices apart from bookmarks, because I was a bit afraid of this step. I do have important bookmarks on my laptop, more dedicated to work, and other important bookmarks on my PC, more about private life. If I select sync now, will some of the bookmarks be deleted and overwritten? How can I choose which bookmarks will have the priority or what to pick? (I have multiple folders with many dozens of bookmarks in each, so it's a complex system and nothing I would easily recreate) I would greatly appreciate your help! <3 Thanks

All Replies (3)

more options

What sync does is share selected data. Note that if there is a change on one member of the sync, that change is shared with all other members. Example: If a bookmark is added, or removed, the same will happen with all others.

Helpful?

more options

Does this mean if I enable bookmark sync, the current bookmarks won't be transferred, only new ones added after the sync? That's how I understand your reply. I thought it would be more like this: Let's say device one's bookmarks are x, and the other's are y. When I sync, will x be replaced by y; or y by x; or will both devices have bookmarks x+y available?

Helpful?

more options

When you start sync, all selected data is sent to the servers. If others are added to the sync, their data is also sent. If there are entries that a member of the sync does not have, it is sent to that member.

Helpful?

Ask a question

You must log in to your account to reply to posts. Please start a new question, if you do not have an account yet.