Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Cuireadh an snáithe seo sa chartlann. Cuir ceist nua má tá cabhair uait.

Remember NOT to offer "save logins and passwords"

  • 2 fhreagra
  • 1 leis an bhfadhb seo
  • 5 views
  • Freagra is déanaí ó cor-el

more options

Hi community,

I sense some dark patterns here, but before witch hunting I would like to confirm here with the devs or the community. Here's the situation:

1) I have sync enabled; 2) I have logged into my Firefox account; 3) I have manually disabled "save logins and passwords" option 4) wait sometime, like, in days. 5) Firefox started to offer "saving logins and passwords" 6) The respective option under privacy has been turn on, without my acknowledgement.

Was that by design or an error?

Regards,

Quan

All Replies (2)

more options

Hello Quan,

That option should not be checked "by itself" - the only possible explanation I can think of would be that one of your extensions is the culprit.

To find out if that is the case, you could start Firefox in Safe mode, which disables all add-ons, and if the problem disappears, re-enable every add-on one by one till you find the culprit :

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/troubleshoot-firefox-issues-using-safe-mode

But before you go through all that trouble : maybe you could first disable "LastPass: Free Password Manager 4.33.5.12 " ......

more options

The pref is signon.rememberSignons is one of the prefs that are synced among all connected device, so it is possible that you have switched on a device that has enabled the Password Manager when this happens.

You can set the related services.sync.prefs.sync pref to false on the about:config page to exclude the actual pref from getting synced.

  • services.sync.prefs.sync.signon.rememberSignons = false

You can open the about:config page via the location/address bar. You can accept the warning and click "I accept the risk!" to continue.