Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Cuireadh an snáithe seo sa chartlann. Cuir ceist nua má tá cabhair uait.

Incoming msg's go to both INbox AND 'Important' folder; if I delete one from either location it deletes from both.

  • 1 freagra
  • 1 leis an bhfadhb seo
  • 2 views
  • Freagra is déanaí ó sfhowes

more options

When receiving new msg's in Thunderbird they download into both my INBOX...AND...the 'IMPORTANT' folder (sub-folder of the 'Gmail' folder). Also: quite often (nearly always) when I check my email for new msg's, I'll find that several (not necessarily all) of my SENT mailings are also showing in the 'IMPORTANT' folder.

If I delete msg's from the IMPORTANT folder, they simultaneously delete from my INBOX...or SENT mail. As a result, I must always begin...when checking my new mail...by going to the IMPORTANT folder, selecting all the 'SENT' mails, dragging them as a group to the 'SENT mail' icon and then selecting all the NEW msg's and dragging them as a group to the 'INBOX' icon. It's a real nuisance. Thanks in advance for any corrective advise. NJR

When receiving new msg's in Thunderbird they download into both my INBOX...AND...the 'IMPORTANT' folder (sub-folder of the 'Gmail' folder). Also: quite often (nearly always) when I check my email for new msg's, I'll find that several (not necessarily all) of my SENT mailings are also showing in the 'IMPORTANT' folder. If I delete msg's from the IMPORTANT folder, they simultaneously delete from my INBOX...or SENT mail. As a result, I must always begin...when checking my new mail...by going to the IMPORTANT folder, selecting all the 'SENT' mails, dragging them as a group to the 'SENT mail' icon and then selecting all the NEW msg's and dragging them as a group to the 'INBOX' icon. It's a real nuisance. Thanks in advance for any corrective advise. NJR

All Replies (1)

more options

You may want to change the setting for deleting messages so that copies aren't deleted. See the last paragraph of this article in the Labels section.

Additional suggestions for TB/Gmail settings:

https://support.google.com/mail/answer/78892

Note that it's recommended to not check "Place a copy in" for Sent messages.