- Okugcinwe kunqolobane
In quite an extensive search I can only find two pieces regarding my concern about firefox syncing (for a bit of simplicity I will also assume in this inquiry I am only t… (funda kabanzi)
In quite an extensive search I can only find two pieces regarding my concern about firefox syncing (for a bit of simplicity I will also assume in this inquiry I am only talking about bookmarks). Could the experts out there kindly put some meat on my bones of uncertainty?
References: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1027527#answer-646401 How does FF sync across 3 open instances on 3 pc's? https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1000440 FF 29.0.1 Sync function - what does it actually do?
I can understand a perfect synchronization can take place if all devices are kept turned on all the time. That would mean real time (virtually) simultaneous syncing. For example, a deletion (of a bookmark) on one device would delete on the others and an addition on one would add that same bookmark to the other devices. If I have got that wrong then please correct me there. If I have got that correct then what happens when one or all devices are switched off and then at staggered times in the future switched on when changes may have been made to the bookmarks in different ways at different times on those different devices. From this answer given below I get the sensation that there is some kind of aggregation going on but it certainly is not clear to me. Below reference from: How does FF sync across 3 open instances on 3 pc's?? “Only on the first sync of the first device will everything overwrite the account in the cloud. Everything else will merge and all three will continue to be merged. What does this mean, if you delete on one, it will delete/resolve on another when it syncs if you have bookmarks selected to sync. Senario answer: The second pc will merge with the 1st and the first will be a mix of both.” In practical terms it is very inconvenient to have old deleted bookmarks be re-added to a device when wanting to say goodbye to that bookmark forever. Is there a way to retain what would be a master set of bookmarks on one device and update later those only on what are deemed secondary devices. I realize you can switch off the synchronization and you can also keep a profile copy or a full copy file of bookmarks and start the whole thing again by deleting the sync account and starting afresh. But my problem is that I continually forget to turn off the syncing on a device when I close down and then bingo before I know where I am an old deleted bookmark reappears by automatic syncing from another device because that bookmark is retained in the cloud. Or am I missing something obvious?