a web page vkernal.org popped up and told me to update firefox despite me running 9. Are they cosher?
Hello When I opened Firefox today, a tab vkernal.org opened up suggesting that my Firefox browser needed urgently updating. I googled vkernal.org and could find no obvious reference to Firefox on their website, and no reference to them on Mozilla's site. I checked (help/about firefox) which indicated I was up to date (9). Not sure how this message popped up and wondered if anyone knew if they are cosher?
Solution Chosen
cor-el: Do a malware check with some malware scanning programs on the Windows computer. You need to scan with all programs because each program detects different malware. Make ... Read more...
1 out of 1 person found this reply helpful
Other Helpful Replies
risingstar: I was surfing and was about to check a website post I made. It seems like this is coming from the ads, as they cannot possibly screen all of their ads to make sure they ... Read more...
1 out of 1 person found this reply helpful
System Details
- Windows XP
- Firefox 9.0.1
Additional System Details
- Windows XP
- Firefox 9.0.1
This happened
Every time Firefox opened
This started when...
today
Installed Plug-ins
- Shockwave Flash 11.1 r102
- Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version 11.6.1.629
- The QuickTime Plugin allows you to view a wide variety of multimedia content in Web pages. For more information, visit the QuickTime Web site.
- NPRuntime Script Plug-in Library for Java(TM) Deploy
- Next Generation Java Plug-in 1.6.0_26 for Mozilla browsers
- BrowserPlus -- Improve your browser! -- http://browserplus.yahoo.com/
- Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF) plug-in for Mozilla browsers
- np-mswmp
- Adobe Acrobat Plug-In Version 7.00 for Netscape
- Office Plugin for Netscape Navigator
User Agent
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:9.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/9.0.1
Tags
4 replies
Post a Reply-
I was surfing and was about to check a website post I made. It seems like this is coming from the ads, as they cannot possibly screen all of their ads to make sure they are free of malware. A window popped up say that my firefox was out of date and that I should update it. You could see the spelling was not good, so I got suspicious also because firefox always lets you know when they have an update.
I had already once before been infected by the infamous windows vista security 2011, and I want to avoid that at all costs as I had to reinstall windows on both my computers to get rid of that nasty horrible creature! My antivirus back then was webroot with spysweeper 2011 and it could not stop it or even detect it!
So today, I just hit the X close button and scanned with Norton Internet Security 2012, Norton did not turn up anything just cookies. After that I cleaned out my cookies and browsing history. The website http://vkernal.org is mentioned in a couple of places as malware. But with what happened to me last time, I'm not taking any chances.
So spread the word that if it comes up don't panic, just close the browser. If it doesn't want to close, call up the task manager and select the browser and close it. Then scan with your anti virus to see if it finds anything, finally bring up your windows Disk cleanup and erase history, cookies, temp files, etc. I hope this helps if you do get infected, I recommend you scan again using malwarebytes, then hitman pro just to be on the safe side. I don't know what would have happened if I had hit update the browser button, since Norton is really good but then again I would rather not find out! One curious thing is that this one did not lock up my browser to where I could not close the window.
-
I found a little something interesting on the below link about that site. Also looked it up in whois and it states that the domain is for sale. Hmm I wonder just what is going on there? I guess the best thing is try to avoid sites like that! because I think its called driveby download.
http://www.styleforum.net/t/284509/vkernal-org-spam-and-redirect-on-the-site
Great Article: Being Secure from Drive-by Malware
-
Do a malware check with some malware scanning programs on the Windows computer.
You need to scan with all programs because each program detects different malware.
Make sure that you update each program to get the latest version of their databases before doing a scan.
- http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php - Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware
- http://www.superantispyware.com/ - SuperAntispyware
- http://www.microsoft.com/security/scanner/en-us/default.aspx - Microsoft Safety Scanner
- http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/defender/default.mspx - Windows Defender: Home Page
- http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html - Spybot Search & Destroy
- http://www.lavasoft.com/products/ad_aware_free.php - Ad-Aware Free
See also:
- "Spyware on Windows": http://kb.mozillazine.org/Popups_not_blocked
-
Many thanks for getting back to me. Have had no further issues All the best
You must log in to your account to reply to posts.
Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.
Firefox Help