Lolu chungechunge lwabekwa kunqolobane. Uyacelwa ubuze umbuzo omusha uma udinga usizo.
What is the difference between "Delete This Page" & "Forget About This Site" when deleting a single item in the 'History'
This question is similar to this archived question:
(1) What is the difference between "Delete" & "Forget about this site" when deleting a single item in the 'History' as a 'customising' procedure ?'c' https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1059209
An answer to that question links to this relevant page:
(2) Delete browsing, search and download history on Firefox. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/delete-browsing-search-download-history-firefox
There are 2 things that are not clear to me in these 2 pages:
Question A: The accepted answer for the question (1) says that "Forget About This Site" will (among other things) remove all bookmarks stored in Firefox from that domain.
Using "Forget About This Site" will remove all data stored in Firefox from that domain like bookmarks, cookies, passwords, cache, history, and exceptions,
The page at (2) does not mention that "Forget About This Site" will remove all bookmarks stored in Firefox from that domain.
Since "Bookmarks" do not appear to be part of "History", I suspect that "all bookmarks from that domain" are NOT deleted by using "Forget About This Site", but it is not entirely clear. I was hoping someone could clarify this.
Question B: None of the answers to the question (1), and the page at (2), describe what happens when "Delete This Page" is clicked. I suspect that only that individual link to the page is removed from the "History" database, and that all other data about the domain of that link, including any other "History" links or "Bookmarks" (if any) are preserved. Again, I am looking for clarification on this.
Question C: I also found this related question:
(3) Forget about this site doesn't work as described in Mozilla Help. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1087923
which indicates that "Forget About This Site" is broken. The question is still open, and I couldn't find a bug report for this issue. I was wondering if it has been verified as a bug and if there is a bug report for that issue, and if it has been resolved.
Okulungisiwe ngu ff2fan
All Replies (3)
Using "Forget About This Site" will remove all data stored in Firefox from that domain like bookmarks, cookies, passwords, cache, history, and exceptions, so be cautious. If you have a password or other data from that domain that you do not want to lose then make sure to backup this data or make a note.
You can't recover from this 'forget' unless you have a backup of the involved files.
If you revisit a 'forgotten' website then data from that website will be saved once again.
Delete, on the other hand, only removes that one entry.
I use "Forget About This Site" every day to remove history of certain sites. The relevant Bookmarks on the Bookmarks Toolbar are never removed.