Tìm kiếm hỗ trợ

Tránh các lừa đảo về hỗ trợ. Chúng tôi sẽ không bao giờ yêu cầu bạn gọi hoặc nhắn tin đến số điện thoại hoặc chia sẻ thông tin cá nhân. Vui lòng báo cáo hoạt động đáng ngờ bằng cách sử dụng tùy chọn "Báo cáo lạm dụng".

Learn More

"Never remember history" changes to "Use custom..." and "...private mode"

  • 4 trả lời
  • 1 gặp vấn đề này
  • 21 lượt xem
  • Trả lời mới nhất được viết bởi hank.leeps

more options

Version 94.0.2 (64-bit) Windows 10

Hi.

A few times in Settings I selected History->Never remember history, yet upon reopening the browser the setting was changed to "Use custom settings for history" and "Always use private mode." Why is this happening?

The larger issue is Cached Web Content (CWC), which doesn't completely delete like everything else. No matter the settings to delete everything upon closing or never remember, every time I reopen FF and click Clear Data there is some data in CWC (albeit in kb). I've read many pages and posts here and it's still not clear: A) Why isn't it 0 bytes and B) If a previously visited site can access the CWC, then isn't that a strike against privacy?

Sincerley,

Hank

Version 94.0.2 (64-bit) Windows 10 Hi. A few times in Settings I selected History->Never remember history, yet upon reopening the browser the setting was changed to "Use custom settings for history" and "Always use private mode." Why is this happening? The larger issue is Cached Web Content (CWC), which doesn't completely delete like everything else. No matter the settings to delete everything upon closing or never remember, every time I reopen FF and click Clear Data there is some data in CWC (albeit in kb). I've read many pages and posts here and it's still not clear: A) Why isn't it 0 bytes and B) If a previously visited site can access the CWC, then isn't that a strike against privacy? Sincerley, Hank

Tất cả các câu trả lời (4)

more options

See my reply here:

more options

Thanks. The many options are confusing and I don't get why there is more than one way of saying or enabling Private Mode. Not really a question, just venting.

The CWC is still a concern. How come it doesn't fully empty after closing the browser when it's set to delete everything?

more options

The easy way to switch on PB mode is choosing "Never remember history" and to turn it off choosing "Remember history" as in PB mode no session data is stored in the profile folder. Like I wrote, choosing "Use custom settings for history" is meant for inspecting and possibly modifying individual history settings and choosing this setting doesn't make any changes as such. "Use custom settings for history" always stays selected if you have made changes from the default history settings. With the default history settings you always see "Remember history" or "Never remember history" depending on whether PB mode is active.

more options

I'm not sure if that response is about the CWC, part of why I find these FF settings to be confusing (and Brave is not).