cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

SOLVED
Highlighted
New Contributor

When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

Application Basics
------------------
Name: Firefox
Version: 27.0
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; rv:27.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/27.0
Crash Reports for the Last 3 Days
---------------------------------
All Crash Reports
Extensions
----------
Name: AVG SafeGuard toolbar
Version: 17.3.1.91
Enabled: false
ID: avg@toolbar
Name: Norton Toolbar
Version: 2013.4.5.2
Enabled: false
ID: {2D3F3651-74B9-4795-BDEC-6DA2F431CB62}
Name: Norton Vulnerability Protection
Version: 12.0.5.3 - 1
Enabled: false
ID: {BBDA0591-3099-440a-AA10-41764D9DB4DB}
Important Modified Preferences
------------------------------
accessibility.typeaheadfind.flashBar: 0
browser.cache.disk.capacity: 358400
browser.cache.disk.smart_size.first_run: false
browser.cache.disk.smart_size.use_old_max: false
browser.cache.disk.smart_size_cached_value: 358400
browser.places.smartBookmarksVersion: 4
browser.sessionstore.upgradeBackup.latestBuildID: 20140127194636
browser.startup.homepage: http://search.ominent.com/ws/?source=9f1d0980&tbp=homepage&toolbarid=base&u=0e163f060000000000002cd0...
browser.startup.homepage_override.buildID: 20140127194636
browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone: 27.0
dom.mozApps.used: true
extensions.lastAppVersion: 27.0
font.internaluseonly.changed: false
gfx.direct3d.last_used_feature_level_idx: 0
keyword.URL: http://search.ominent.com/ws/?source=9f1d0980&tbp=url&toolbarid=base&u=0e163f060000000000002cd05ab28...
network.cookie.prefsMigrated: true
places.database.lastMaintenance: 1391794718
places.history.expiration.transient_current_max_pages: 104858
plugin.disable_full_page_plugin_for_types: application/pdf
plugin.importedState: true
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_bgcolor: false
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_bgimages: false
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_colorspace:
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_command:
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_downloadfonts: false
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_duplex: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_edge_bottom: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_edge_left: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_edge_right: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_edge_top: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_evenpages: true
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_footercenter:
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_footerleft: &PT
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_footerright: &D
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_headercenter:
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_headerleft: &T
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_headerright: &U
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_in_color: true
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_margin_bottom: 0.5
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_margin_left: 0.5
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_margin_right: 0.5
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_margin_top: 0.5
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_oddpages: true
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_orientation: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_page_delay: 50
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_paper_data: 1
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_paper_height: 11.00
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_paper_name:
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_paper_size_type: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_paper_size_unit: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_paper_width: 8.50
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_plex_name:
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_resolution: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_resolution_name:
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_reversed: false
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_scaling: 1.00
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_shrink_to_fit: true
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_to_file: false
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_unwriteable_margin_bottom: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_unwriteable_margin_left: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_unwriteable_margin_right: 0
print.printer_HP_Photosmart_2600_series.print_unwriteable_margin_top: 0
privacy.sanitize.migrateFx3Prefs: true
storage.vacuum.last.index: 0
storage.vacuum.last.places.sqlite: 1391782592
user.js Preferences
-------------------
Your profile folder contains a user.js file, which includes preferences that were not created by Firefox.
Graphics
--------
Adapter Description: Intel(R) HD Graphics
Adapter Drivers: igdumd64 igd10umd64 igd10umd64 igdumd32 igd10umd32 igd10umd32
Adapter RAM: Unknown
Device ID: 0x0152
Direct2D Enabled: true
DirectWrite Enabled: true (6.2.9200.16581)
Driver Date: 12-12-2012
Driver Version: 9.17.10.2932
GPU #2 Active: false
GPU Accelerated Windows: 1/1 Direct3D 10
Vendor ID: 0x8086
WebGL Renderer: Google Inc. -- ANGLE (Intel(R) HD Graphics Direct3D9Ex vs_3_0 ps_3_0)
windowLayerManagerRemote: false
AzureCanvasBackend: direct2d
AzureContentBackend: direct2d
AzureFallbackCanvasBackend: cairo
AzureSkiaAccelerated: 0
JavaScript
----------
Incremental GC: true
Accessibility
-------------
Activated: false
Prevent Accessibility: 0
Library Versions
----------------
NSPR
Expected minimum version: 4.10.2
Version in use: 4.10.2
NSS
Expected minimum version: 3.15.4 Basic ECC
Version in use: 3.15.4 Basic ECC
NSSSMIME
Expected minimum version: 3.15.4 Basic ECC
Version in use: 3.15.4 Basic ECC
NSSSSL
Expected minimum version: 3.15.4 Basic ECC
Version in use: 3.15.4 Basic ECC
NSSUTIL
Expected minimum version: 3.15.4
Version in use: 3.15.4
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Site Moderator

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

the software doesn't have to be installed recently - it probably has put its fake certfificate into the firefox certificate store, which was removed again when you have reset the browser. so it might have been going on for a while unrecognized...

24 REPLIES
Site Moderator

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

hello lormand, please try to reset firefox and see if this can address the issue...

Legendary Contributor

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

Something changed your home page. If you prefer the built-in home page, you can delete the ominent address in the following dialog, and use about:home instead.

But... this might not stick if whatever switched your home page is still on your computer. Please also check:

(1) user.js file

This is a file that Firefox reads at startup which overrides your previous session settings. To remove this file, see the steps in this article: How to fix preferences that won't save. Note: If windows does show the .js on files like prefs.js, sessionstore.js, and user.js, you can turn off the hiding of file extensions using the methods in this article: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/865219.

(2) Windows Control Panel, Uninstall a Program

Click the "Installed on" column heading to bring the most recent infections, I mean additions, to the top. If you recently installed some free software, it may have been bundled with whatever is responsible for changing your home page. Try to remove unwanted software here.

And... hopefully that will cure it! If you want to mop up a bit more, check out the cleanup tools other Firefox users have found helpful, in this article: Troubleshoot Firefox issues caused by malware.

New Contributor

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

Set firefox as my home page; Now, every time I try to type in a website (yahoo or (Mozilla firefox), I receive this message:

This Connection is Untrusted

You have asked Firefox to connect securely to login.yahoo.com, but we can't confirm that your connection is secure.

Normally, when you try to connect securely, sites will present trusted identification to prove that you are going to the right place. However, this site's identity can't be verified. What Should I Do?

If you usually connect to this site without problems, this error could mean that someone is trying to impersonate the site, and you shouldn't continue.

Site Moderator

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

first please make sure that the date & time is set correctly on your system.
if this doesn't solve the issue (or it is already set properly), could you tell us which error code is shown under technical details on the error message and when you inspect the certificate which issuer information it does contain (see screenshot)?

"This Connection is Untrusted" error message appears - What to do

2014-02-07-10-34-04-63d2a6.png
New Contributor

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

got me to the firefox homepage, but now I get this message and am unable to access yahoo or any other sites:

This Connection is Untrusted

You have asked Firefox to connect securely to login.yahoo.com, but we can't confirm that your connection is secure.

Normally, when you try to connect securely, sites will present trusted identification to prove that you are going to the right place. However, this site's identity can't be verified. What Should I Do?

If you usually connect to this site without problems, this error could mean that someone is trying to impersonate the site, and you shouldn't continue.


Seems to be a perpetual loop because even if I accept the risks, it still won't allow me to access sites. Arggh.

Site Moderator

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

lormand, in order to give you a targeted reply, please provide the two pieces of information requested:

  • what is the error code shown under Technical Details on the ""This Connection is Untrusted"-page
  • when you inspect a certificate like described in the screenshot above, what is its issuer information?
Site Moderator

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

What does it say under the Technical Details?

Legendary Contributor

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

Hi lormand, I don't know whether you saw philipp's post here: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/que.../985749#answer-531348.

The reason we're asking you to look at that "Issued by" information is recently many Firefox users are running into problems with their security software filtering feature. In order to filter secure connections (HTTPS URLs), the security software presents a fake certificate to Firefox so it can intercept and stand in the middle of the secure connection. To have Firefox trust these certificates, you may need to do something such as import a root certificate, or click something in your security software's settings.

Of course, the problem also could be caused by spyware.

The kind of issuer you might find is:

  • Name associated with your security software, such as ESET, BitDefender, etc.
  • Sendori (indicates unwanted software from Sendori)
  • FiddlerRoot (indicates unwanted software named similarly to BrowserSafeguard, BrowserSafe, SafeGuard)
  • Something else
New Contributor

Re: When I click on the firefox logo to open, Ominent comes up on my computer screen....Not Firefox. Why?

Technical Details

login.yahoo.com uses an invalid security certificate. The certificate is not trusted because no issuer chain was provided. (Error code: sec_error_unknown_issuer)