Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Start Incredibar extensions

SOLVED
Highlighted
New User

My Start Incredibar extensions

Like a lot of others, I have had terrible problems with this damn incredibar thing that has somehow gotten onto my laptop. Thanks to the other threads in the forums I have managed to get Firefox back to what I originally had, (remove webassistent, check about:config etc...) but I still have one concern. When I search for incredibar in about:config, I still get a whole load of extensions.incredibar results. I am not very technically literate when it comes to these things but is there anyway I can remove these or are they just remnants that I am better off leaving alone? The incredibar extension doesn't seem to come up in the list under the Firefox Tab. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Site Moderator

Re: My Start Incredibar extensions

Here's a really detailed guide on how to remove Incredibar (complete w/ screenshots!): http://deletemalware.blogspot.com/2012/07/remove-mystart-by-incredibar-uninstall.html

This should fully get rid of Incredibar. This is definitely one of those annoying & difficult ones to get rid of.

Those extensions.incredibar results should be safe to remove. They only are active when the extension is installed. If it's uninstalled, then those settings can't affect anything. Also those kinds of settings get left behind from all kinds of add-ons because there isn't a way to auto remove those settings when a add-on is uninstalled. Hopefully this problem is fixed one day by the Firefox devs.

To erase those settings:

• In the url bar, type about:config and press Enter. If you see the "This might void your warranty!" warning, just click the I'll be careful, I promise! button to continue.