Hey! I was wondering how the bookmark sync works like when I set it up; I have everything synced across my devices apart from bookmarks, because I was a bit afraid of this step. I do have important bookmarks on my laptop, more dedicated to work, and other important bookmarks on my PC, more about private life. If I select sync now, will some of the bookmarks be deleted and overwritten? How can I choose which bookmarks will have the priority or what to pick? (I have multiple folders with many dozens of bookmarks in each, so it's a complex system and nothing I would easily recreate) I would greatly appreciate your help! <3 Thanks
Všetky odpovede (3)
What sync does is share selected data. Note that if there is a change on one member of the sync, that change is shared with all other members. Example: If a bookmark is added, or removed, the same will happen with all others.
Does this mean if I enable bookmark sync, the current bookmarks won't be transferred, only new ones added after the sync? That's how I understand your reply. I thought it would be more like this: Let's say device one's bookmarks are x, and the other's are y. When I sync, will x be replaced by y; or y by x; or will both devices have bookmarks x+y available?
When you start sync, all selected data is sent to the servers. If others are added to the sync, their data is also sent. If there are entries that a member of the sync does not have, it is sent to that member.