Search Support

Beware of phishing attacks: Mozilla will never ask you to call a number or visit a non-Mozilla website. Please ignore such requests.

Learn More

How can I turn off the nag message regarding deleting web sites from "Top Sites"?

more options

EVERY time I want to delete a web page from my "Top Sites" I receive the following unnecessary message: "Are you sure you want to delete every instance of this page from your history? This action cannot be undone."

Well, of course it can't be undone. I don't want it to be undone.

Is there a method of eliminating that nag question each and every time I delete a web site from "Top Sites". I enjoy the "Top Site" feature, but the nag-on-delete is quite annoying.

All Replies (12)

more options

I don't see mine so what does it look like on your screenshot?

more options

WestEnd said

I don't see mine so what does it look like on your screenshot?

This is the screen shot, which was exactly what I posted previously.

more options

Give me step what you did so I can see if I can reproduce it on my side?

more options

WestEnd said

Give me step what you did so I can see if I can reproduce it on my side?

Hello Westend,

When you hover over a thumbnail (Top Site on the New Tab page), then click on the three dots that appear, you get a few options. One of them is 'Delete from History' - and I can imagine that people who accidentally clicked on that button instead of 'Dismiss', will be very happy to see that warning (both buttons are very close together).

more options

Hello John_Matthews129,

Just to avoid confusion : When you want to delete a Top Site you click on 'Dismiss' and you should not get that warning. If however you want to delete history for that top site, I'm afraid you will have to 'put up with that warning' (only for a split second).

If that warning bothers you that much; instead of clicking on 'Delete from History' you could press Ctrl + Shift + H - click on 'Organize' (upper left corner) and choose the site you want to delete from history. Then click 'Delete'.

But clicking 'Delete from History' will be way faster .....

more options

I am aware of that, thanks. If I want to delete something from Top Sites there shouldn’t be any reason to drill-down into the browser history to do that. I can more easily delete them from the Top Site dashboard. I see no reason for the constant “nag” and there must be a way to turn that “off” so it doesn’t appear each and every time I do this.

more options

Looking at Top Site dashboard, select site, choose “delete”. I know the difference between “dismiss” and “delete”.

more options

Dismiss adds the URL to a special block pref named browser.newtabpage.blocked, so this pref can grow considerably in size if you keep dismissing URLs. Delete is delete from history and will prevent the website from showing as a top site (top sites are pages you have visited and are ordered in a way similar as you for the location bar drop-down list). Because this delete cannot be reversed Firefox will ask for confirmation to avoid possible dataloss.

more options

Ooookay... I really appreciate all who have answered taking the time to do so. However, aside from telling me the obvious, and presuming I wouldn’t know what the word “delete” means, or the difference between “delete” and “dismiss”, no one has answered my question.

more options

John_Matthews129 said

However, aside from telling me the obvious, and presuming I wouldn’t know what the word “delete” means, or the difference between “delete” and “dismiss”,

The header of your question reads :

"How can I turn off the nag message regarding deleting web sites from "Top Sites"? "

Hence I said : "Just to avoid confusion : When you want to delete a Top Site you click on 'Dismiss' and you should not get that warning."

no one has answered my question.

I thought I answered it with this sentence :

"I'm afraid you will have to 'put up with that warning' (only for a split second)."

(Also see my post, directed at WestEnd, explaining why this warning is necessary)

more options

It is usually not possible to disable warning in cases where loss of valuable data is involved, so in this case this isn't possible.

confirm_history_delete_p1 : https://dxr.mozilla.org/mozilla-release/source/browser/components/newtab/data/content/activity-stream.bundle.js#2876 https://dxr.mozilla.org/mozilla-release/source/browser/components/newtab/content-src/components/ConfirmDialog/ConfirmDialog.jsx

more options

Valuable data it’s not.

Okay folks, I appreciate your comments but I think we can close this one out as unresolved.