On Aug 14th 11 PM ET/Aug 15th 03:00 UTC, due to scheduled Firefox Account server maintenance, users may not be able to sign in or create a new subscription. This is expected to last approximately 30 minutes. Status updates can be found at https://status.vpn.mozilla.org or https://status.relay.firefox.com.

Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Private browsing and cookies

  • No replies
  • 1 has this problem
  • 4 views
more options

I was using a Private Browsing window. I logged into an account and when I finished, I closed the window. I still had a standard FF window open. I realized I hadn't finished my transaction with the account that I had logged into in the private window a minute earlier and opened a new private window. When I went back to the site for the account, I was already logged in. I was surprised by this. I thought that all the information in a private browsing session was gone once that window was closed. I'm not the only person that thinks this. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1295042 https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1305020

The answers to those questions are old. Has the practice of needing to close ALL FF windows after finishing a private browsing session gone away or that of using the Storage Inspector to delete cookies been replaced by a more convenient solution?

It seems to me that if those answers are still standard practice that those practices should be communicated to FF users in a more obvious way in the name of privacy. The practices required in those answers seriously diminish the effect of privacy in private browsing for unknowing users. And they're inconvenient for those that know.

I was using a Private Browsing window. I logged into an account and when I finished, I closed the window. I still had a standard FF window open. I realized I hadn't finished my transaction with the account that I had logged into in the private window a minute earlier and opened a new private window. When I went back to the site for the account, I was already logged in. I was surprised by this. I thought that all the information in a private browsing session was gone once that window was closed. I'm not the only person that thinks this. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1295042 https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1305020 The answers to those questions are old. Has the practice of needing to close ALL FF windows after finishing a private browsing session gone away or that of using the Storage Inspector to delete cookies been replaced by a more convenient solution? It seems to me that if those answers are still standard practice that those practices should be communicated to FF users in a more obvious way in the name of privacy. The practices required in those answers seriously diminish the effect of privacy in private browsing for unknowing users. And they're inconvenient for those that know.

You must log in to your account to reply to posts. Please start a new question, if you do not have an account yet.