Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

How do I safely delete synced Add-Ons without syncing to new profile?

  • No replies
  • 1 has this problem
  • 1 view
more options

I recently newly configured a laptop and while doing so, installed an updated version of FF (v 79).

I realized that some of my old Add-ons from my backed up FF profile (last used with FF v. 68) were interfering with the new FF installation, so by toggling off sync of Add-ons using about:config (see https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/about-config-editor-firefox ), I was able to open the newly installed FF and successfully use it with my backed up profile without introducing the older synced Add-ons.

The problem: So currently, in my newly restored, working FF profile, I have Add-Ons unchecked in syncing, to ensure that the Add-Ons from my previous FF incarnation would not conflict with this new install.

However, I am concerned that at some future point I might forget why I had disabled Add-ons in sync, and that if I check it and do a sync, it might re-introduce the old Add-ons.

So what I want to do now is to delete all the old Add-ons (essentially from the Sync server) . . . if they are still there -- so that if I want to check Add-ons to be synced with my new FF installation, it won't re-introduce those incompatible older add-ons.

What is the safest way to do this?

Would it work if I did the following?

- Open FF (my current working restored profile) -- but open it in Safe Mode. - check Add-ons in sync - allow sync - if the Add-ons show up, delete them

I recently newly configured a laptop and while doing so, installed an updated version of FF (v 79). I realized that some of my old Add-ons from my backed up FF profile (last used with FF v. 68) were interfering with the new FF installation, so by toggling off sync of Add-ons using about:config (see https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/about-config-editor-firefox ), I was able to open the newly installed FF and successfully use it with my backed up profile without introducing the older synced Add-ons. '''The problem:''' So currently, in my newly restored, working FF profile, I have Add-Ons ''un''checked in syncing, to ensure that the Add-Ons from my previous FF incarnation would not conflict with this new install. However, I am concerned that at some future point I might forget why I had disabled Add-ons in sync, and that if I check it and do a sync, it might re-introduce the old Add-ons. So what''' I want to '''do now is to '''delete all the old Add-ons '''(essentially from the Sync server) . . . if they are still there -- so that if I want to ''check'' Add-ons to be synced with my new FF installation, it won't re-introduce those incompatible older add-ons. What is the safest way to do this? Would it work if I did the following? - Open FF (my current working restored profile) -- but open it in Safe Mode. - check Add-ons in sync - allow sync - if the Add-ons show up, delete them