X
Tap here to go to the mobile version of the site.

Support Forum

Form history being deleted when Firefox closes

Posted

Whenever I close or restart Firefox, my formhistory file is deleted and a fresh one replaces it. I do not want this to happen. In the Privacy & Security section, I have the "Clear history when Firefox closes" box unchecked and the "use custom settings for history" selected. Is there some other setting I need to set to prevent that file from being deleted when FF closes? Thanks for any response. Gary

Whenever I close or restart Firefox, my formhistory file is deleted and a fresh one replaces it. I do not want this to happen. In the Privacy & Security section, I have the "Clear history when Firefox closes" box unchecked and the "use custom settings for history" selected. Is there some other setting I need to set to prevent that file from being deleted when FF closes? Thanks for any response. Gary
Quote

Additional System Details

Installed Plug-ins

  • Shockwave Flash 32.0 r0

Application

  • User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:68.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/68.0

More Information

FredMcD
  • Top 10 Contributor
4220 solutions 58899 answers

When you say; formhistory file is deleted and a fresh one replaces it what do you mean? Replaced with what?

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-to-fix-preferences-wont-save

Note: Some software, like Advanced SystemCare with Surfing Protection, can protect files in the Firefox profile folder against changes. If you have such software then check the settings or uninstall this software.

When you say; '''''formhistory file is deleted and a fresh one replaces it''''' what do you mean? Replaced with what? https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-to-fix-preferences-wont-save '''Note:''' Some software, '''like''' Advanced SystemCare with Surfing Protection, can protect files in the Firefox profile folder against changes. If you have such software then check the settings or uninstall this software.
Was this helpful to you? 0
Quote

Question owner

There is a file called formhistory.sqlte which I have customized with a lot of form-fill information I use repeatedly. Whenever I close or restart FF my file is deleted and replaced with a new file of the same name (and without all of my saved information). I thought that, with the settings I have selected, this would not happen. But, it does.

There is a file called formhistory.sqlte which I have customized with a lot of form-fill information I use repeatedly. Whenever I close or restart FF my file is deleted and replaced with a new file of the same name (and without all of my saved information). I thought that, with the settings I have selected, this would not happen. But, it does.

Modified by galahad2k

Was this helpful to you?
Quote
Ask a question

You must log in to your account to reply to posts. Please start a new question, if you do not have an account yet.