Question

Firefox 20.0 Private Browsing Holds on to Logins

Previous to Firefox 20.0, you would click "Start Private Browsing" (I can't remember the exact wording) and for example, login to Site X. When you were finished, you would click "Stop Private Browsing." Later in the day, you would click "Start Private Browsing" and go to Site X. Site X would not show you logged-in.

That's no longer the case.

In Firefox 20.0, you click "New Private Window" and login to Site X. When you're finished, you click on Close (the x). Later in the day, you click "New Private Window" and go to Site X. Site X still shows you logged-in from the previous private session.

So "Private Browsing" is not actually private.

The only way to ensure that this doesn't happen if you go to File > Exit but that shuts down everything including non-private browsing.

↓ Show more ↑ Show less
  • All posts
  • Helpful Solutions
  • helpful
  • owner
  • post
  • owner
  • solution
  • post