Tap here to go to the mobile version of the site.
Your Firefox is out of date and may contain a security risk! Upgrade Firefox

Support Forum

When going to add the free download Firefox to my Laptop it comes up when I am about to download this is an insecure site and can damage your computer. Please advise


I have purchased a Laptop running windows 7 and deceided to install Mozilla Firefox when I went into Download the Free version which is Windows (6.0.1, English (US) an warning comes up at the bottom

Do you want to run or save Firefox Setup 6.0.10exe (13.3 MB) from mozilla.snt.utwente.nl? Then a warning sign comes up and says This type of file could harm your computer. Please can you advise as I also have this on my Desktop

Additional System Details

This started when...

The computer I am sending this information on is my Desktop which is windows XP My Laptop is Windows 7

Installed Plug-ins

  • 1.9.0042.0
  • Zylom Plugin
  • Adobe PDF Plug-In For Firefox and Netscape "9.4.5"
  • NPRuntime Script Plug-in Library for Java(TM) Deploy
  • Google Update
  • BrowserPlus -- Improve your browser! -- http://browserplus.yahoo.com/
  • Shockwave Flash 10.3 r183
  • Next Generation Java Plug-in 1.6.0_26 for Mozilla browsers
  • McAfee MSC FF plugin DLL
  • McAfee Virtual Technician plugin for Mozilla (Gecko Version: 1.8b1)
  • SiteAdvisor
  • Windows Presentation Foundation (WPF) plug-in for Mozilla browsers
  • Npdsplay dll
  • DRM Store Netscape Plugin
  • DRM Netscape Network Object


  • User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 5.1; rv:6.0.1) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/6.0.1

More Information

Then a warning sign comes up and says This type of file could harm your computer. Please can you advise as I also have this on my Desktop

SafeBrowser 550 solutions 2392 answers

Helpful Reply

That new Firefox version should be 6.0.1 not 6.0.10.

That is most likely being caused by a recently discovered problem where SSL security certificates from an issuer in the Netherlands were found to be invalid. Firefox (and other browser developers) is currently taking measures to protect its users against the fraudulent certificates (your link mozilla.snt.utwente.nl is located in the Netherlands). Try your download again and hopefully you will be directed to one of the other download mirrors around the planet.

You can also download the full installer, SAVE the download to your Desktop, then close Firefox and run the installer if you wish:

If this reply solves your problem, please click "Solved It" next to this reply when signed-in to the forum.

Not related to your question, but...

You need to update some plug-ins:

Modified by SafeBrowser

Question owner

This has not helped at all as when I try as you say I still get the same message and do not want to end up with a virus. Please can you tell me how to download this safe.

knorretje 161 solutions 582 answers

Helpful Reply

"Mirror" means official partner-site. If a site is on the mirror list that means that they are an official partner of Mozilla and they have permission to distribute Firefox. In this case you are sent to the University of Twente, which is on the mirror list, so the download should be safe. If you download from a site that is not on the mirror list then you are not safe and you must cancel the download.

  • Top 25 Contributor
  • Moderator
437 solutions 3164 answers

Many of these mirrors help host for a variety of open source projects including Mozilla and various Linux distributions. If you tried again you would likely be directed to another of the mirrors.

The http://mozilla.snt.utwente.nl/ example you gave is one of the primary mirrors used to help load balance the releases.mozilla.org as mentioned on http://www.mozilla.org/community/mirrors.html as Mozilla would not be able to handle the load themselves, especially during multiple new Major version releases of Firefox, Thunderbird and SeaMonkey.

The one you thought was not safe was a University.

University of Twente - SNT (nl) http://mozilla.snt.utwente.nl/

I agree that since it was .nl it could have been related to DigiNotar root certificate recently. http://www.mozilla.org/security/announce/2011/mfsa2011-34.html

Modified by James

SafeBrowser 550 solutions 2392 answers

Going directly to http://mozilla.snt.utwente.nl/ , I do not receive a warning. Going directly to that link, takes you to an index of what is available and does not start an immediate download.

Is the Date/Time on your system correct?

  • Incorrect Date/Time on your system when compared to the issue and/or expiration dates on a security certificate can cause you to receive an error.
  • To check your computer's Date/Time settings in XP,
    • right click the Date/Time displayed in the lower right corner (right end of the Windows task bar, and choose "Adjust Date/Time".
    • You can also access that same function by using Windows Start button > Settings > Control Panel > Date and Time.
  • If your system is not "holding" the correct Date/Time after changing it, the battery on your motherboard may need to be replaced.

If this reply solves your problem, please click "Solved It" next to this reply when signed-in to the forum.

Modified by SafeBrowser