Tap here to go to the mobile version of the site.
Your Firefox is out of date and may contain a security risk! Upgrade Firefox

Support Forum

How do I block a domain? a.l.yimg.com


The above domain is served by six servers in the U.S. and interferes when I start-up my computer. I'm suspicious that it is using my PC as a slave or enabling advertising. Please help!

Additional System Details

This happened

Every time Firefox opened

This started when...

months ago and did a hard drive removal and reinstall and still happens

Installed Plug-ins

  • Adobe PDF Plug-In For Firefox and Netscape "9.4.0"
  • Default Plug-in
  • Shockwave Flash 10.1 r85
  • McAfee Virtual Technician plugin for Mozilla (Gecko Version: 1.8b1)
  • Npdsplay dll
  • DRM Store Netscape Plugin
  • DRM Netscape Network Object


  • User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv: Gecko/20101026 YFF35 Firefox/3.6.12

More Information

atheistmonk 0 solutions 1 answers

Helpful Reply

well, it appears you have some sort of adware running, you should scan for it and remove it.....

but as far as blocking a host(keeping a site from loading in your browser)

open your 'c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts' file (rightclick, open with notepad)

add the following line to the list: a.l.yimg.com

the 'hosts' file might be set to read only, you'll need to rightclick the file > properties > uncheck 'read only' so you can edit the file

Question owner

Your help is most appreciated. I'll try this avenue and hope it works! Happy New Year, too!

mss666 0 solutions 4 answers

isnt that one of yahoo mail servers???

  • Top 10 Contributor
  • Moderator
10780 solutions 97024 answers

The yimg.com is one of the servers that Yahoo! uses to host their files and web pages. Your user agent shows the Yahoo toolbar, so that or having other Yahoo! software installed is a possible cause of connecting to those servers.