Search Support

Avoid support scams. We will never ask you to call or text a phone number or share personal information. Please report suspicious activity using the “Report Abuse” option.

Learn More

Is there a way to remove a computer from Weave/Sync?

  • 5 replies
  • 87 have this problem
  • 407 views
  • Last reply by alan carter

more options

I just sold a computer that I used to associate with weave, but some of the stuff from that computer is still showing up on my other computers. Is there a way to get that stuff out of the DB, since I no longer care about it, and have sold that computer?

Like, for example, in my "Tabs from Other Computers" screen, my sold computer is still listed as a computer, taking up space. How do I get rid of it?

This happened

Every time Firefox opened

== I look in various places where data remains from the other computer.

All Replies (5)

more options

I have a similar problem. I associated my computer with my sync account but changed the name of my computer after the first sync. Now I have my home page and the "congratulations firefox sync installed" tabs page opened on "another computer" that doesn't exist.

I tried renaming my computer the same name as that "other computer" but I can't close these tabs. If I reopen the tabs they appear in double in my list of opened tabs.

more options

Yep, same problem, except I just re-installed firefox on the same computer, and now its open tabs show up twice in the list (one set is the last set that was open before the reinstall).

more options

There is a fix for this! Simply sync all your computers, then go into the Weave settings, and hit the button that says roughly: "reset all computers with this computer's data."

After that, the other computers will be removed from the tab list, and you'll be pretty much all set.

more options

That doesn't help when the system in question has been destroyed. We need a way to just make it forget a system.

more options

Had this problem earlier & later found an article that helped. So i thought I'd share (even though this is a year old). You have to reset your sync key. Here's how: Replace your Sync information