This thread was archived. Please ask a new question if you need help.
"Forget about this site" removes Lockwise login entries
Hello, I just stumbled upon a very interesting "feature" (I'd say bug). If one goes to the history, and then clicks on "Forget about this site", one would assume that this site would be removed from the history. However, in addition to that happening, all these site's logins are also completely erased from Lockwise, so now I have to recover passwords on all sites where I did this :-( That is certainly not wanted. Is there a way to prevent this?
All Replies (3)
I agree that removing passwords is not a good thing. But do the programmers ask us about such changes? Nope.
In the event that the passwords information is lost, you should record all information in a separate text file somewhere else on your hard drive, or written down. You can easily copy and paste if you need to do so. If you are concerned about someone else looking at that file, you can compress it using a password.
Firefox 80+ has a logins-backup.json file in the profile folder that can be used in case of issues with logins.json or to undo an accidental delete/update of a password. You can check if you can find this logins-backup.json file in the profile folder or in a backup and whether it has the lost logins.
Note that if you use the Primary Password, you can prevent losing logins to make sure that you aren't logged on by canceling a PP prompt. Firefox will then prompt for the PP when you use "Forget About This Site" and only remove the logins if you provide the PP (so cancel this prompt).
You can use the button on the "Help -> More Troubleshooting Information" (about:support) page to go to the current Firefox profile folder or use the about:profiles page.
- Help -> More Troubleshooting Information -> Profile Folder/Directory:
Windows: Open Folder; Linux: Open Directory; Mac: Show in Finder