Password Manager - Remember, delete and change passwords in Thunderbird

Revision Information
  • Revision id: 156778
  • Created:
  • Creator: Chris Ilias
  • Comment: removed elipsis from Saved Passwords button
  • Reviewed: Yes
  • Reviewed:
  • Reviewed by: Chris_Ilias
  • Is approved? Yes
  • Is current revision? Yes
  • Ready for localization: Yes
  • Readied for localization:
  • Readied for localization by: Chris_Ilias
Revision Source
Revision Content

Thunderbird will remember your username and password for each account and outgoing server, and store them in the password manager. If you try to access a server in which you don't have a username or password saved, Thunderbird will prompt you to enter it, and offer to remember what you've entered.

How to view saved passwords

  1. At the top of the Thunderbird window, click the Tools menu (Alt + T) and select Options…OptionsIn the menu bar, click the Thunderbird menu and select PreferencesAt the top of the Thunderbird window, click the Edit menu and select Preferences, or click the Application menu button New Fx Menu and choose Options…OptionsPreferences.

    tb52-options-win10
  2. Go to the Security panel, select the Passwords tab, and click Saved Passwords.

    tb52-savedpasswords-win10


    tb52-savedpasswords-mac
  • To see the passwords you have saved, click Show Passwords. When you close the window, your passwords will be automatically hidden.
  • Use the search box to find a particular account or username. Click the X in the search bar to clear your search and see the full list again.

How to delete or edit passwords

Open the password manager (see above).

  • To edit the username and password for a server, right-clickhold down the Ctrl key while you click on the server's entry from the list and click Edit Username or Edit Password.

    tb52-editpassword-win10


    tb52-editpassword-mac
  • To remove the username and password for a server, select the server's entry from the list and click Remove.
  • To remove all stored usernames and passwords, click Remove All. After confirming this choice, all of your stored usernames and passwords will be deleted.