Hilfe durchsuchen

Vorsicht vor Support-Betrug: Wir fordern Sie niemals auf, eine Nummer anzurufen, sie per SMS zu kontaktieren oder persönliche Daten preiszugeben. Bitte melden Sie verdächtige Aktivitäten über die Funktion „Missbrauch melden“.

Learn More

What is Sync's behavior when logging to a new computer which already has local Firefox data?

  • 1 Antwort
  • 1 hat dieses Problem
  • 5 Aufrufe
  • Letzte Antwort von FredMcD

more options

Hi,

I seem to be unable to find this information:

I have an old computer A, with old Firefox data which is synced to Firefox Sync. I am logged in Sync on this computer. I do not care for this data.

I also have a new computer B with new local Firefox data. This computer has never seen Sync at all. I want to keep this data.

If I log into Sync on computer B, can I make sure that its data isn't erased and replaced by computer A's data?

Thanks,

Ausgewählte Lösung

Do you want to remove all data as to Firefox A? First, shut down the sync account. Delete Account: Look for Delete Account at the bottom of https://accounts.firefox.com/settings


After, create a new sync using the system/profile that has the data. Wait for a while until the syncing is done before adding any new members.

Note: On computer A, I suggest creating a new profile and to sync that. After, remove the old profile, unless there is something you want in it.


Back up and restore information in Firefox profiles {web link} I use a Legacy add-on that makes backups of my user profile, Just In Case. Unfortunately, it is not compatible with the current Firefox.

Every now and then, open the profile folder and create a copy of the current profile as is to another location on your hard drive. This way you will have a backup.

If you do this each day, you will not lose much data. This should be done with Firefox Closed.

Note: In case you need to restore from these backups, you may need to overwrite old or corrupted files.

Diese Antwort im Kontext lesen 👍 1

Alle Antworten (1)

more options

Ausgewählte Lösung

Do you want to remove all data as to Firefox A? First, shut down the sync account. Delete Account: Look for Delete Account at the bottom of https://accounts.firefox.com/settings


After, create a new sync using the system/profile that has the data. Wait for a while until the syncing is done before adding any new members.

Note: On computer A, I suggest creating a new profile and to sync that. After, remove the old profile, unless there is something you want in it.


Back up and restore information in Firefox profiles {web link} I use a Legacy add-on that makes backups of my user profile, Just In Case. Unfortunately, it is not compatible with the current Firefox.

Every now and then, open the profile folder and create a copy of the current profile as is to another location on your hard drive. This way you will have a backup.

If you do this each day, you will not lose much data. This should be done with Firefox Closed.

Note: In case you need to restore from these backups, you may need to overwrite old or corrupted files.

Hilfreich?

Stellen Sie eine Frage

Sie müssen sich mit Ihrem Benutzerkonto anmelden, um auf Beiträge zu antworten. Bitte stellen Sie eine neue Frage, wenn Sie noch kein Benutzerkonto haben.