Hilfe durchsuchen

Vorsicht vor Support-Betrug: Wir fordern Sie niemals auf, eine Nummer anzurufen, sie per SMS zu kontaktieren oder persönliche Daten preiszugeben. Bitte melden Sie verdächtige Aktivitäten über die Funktion „Missbrauch melden“.

Learn More

Is this download request from Firefox: https://ailieseibulions.org/1471134473246/18a18e57e6b711d084f33fdca035c68a.html ?

  • 2 Antworten
  • 1 hat dieses Problem
  • 32 Aufrufe
  • Letzte Antwort von James

more options

A demand for update download arrived, using the Firefox logo from the website listed. is it real?

Alle Antworten (2)

more options

Hello WhatWouldBernieDo, NO it is not real, thanks for reporting a fake update. Please see the article I found a fake Firefox update.

thank you

more options

So you are getting a random name website page claiming to have a so called urgent update for Firefox and a prompt to download a fake firefox-patch.js file. The random name of the website alone should raise a flag that it was not legit.

This is not from Mozilla or the Firefox web browser. The fake firefox-patch.exe and firefox-patch.js files can install things like trojans, viruses, unwanted software or to download additional stuff onto Windows based on past reports if the user runs them.

The Firefox updates are done internally in Firefox (with a .mar type of file) whether on Windows, Mac OSX or Linux or by download from mozilla.org like say www.mozilla.org/firefox/all/

You could try using a adblocker extension like uBlock Origin to block theses fake ads if you keep getting them. https://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/ublock-origin/

Unfortunately this has gone on for several weeks now with one or two new sites reported almost everyday. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/forums/contributors/712056/ and https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/forums/contributors/712075