X
Tap here to go to the mobile version of the site.

منتدى الدعم

How to delete bookmarks from a device after I disconnect my sync account

Posted

I find Sync convenient when, e.g., I am on a public computer. But when I am done using that computer, I want to delete all my bookmarks, etc., to leave Firefox as I found it on that computer. Disconnecting my Sync account leaves all the bookmarks, however. How can I restore Firefox to its original state when I am done?

I have tried the "Reset Firefox" option at about:support without success—my bookmarks remain in the browser.

Thank you

I find Sync convenient when, e.g., I am on a public computer. But when I am done using that computer, I want to delete all my bookmarks, etc., to leave Firefox as I found it on that computer. Disconnecting my Sync account leaves all the bookmarks, however. How can I restore Firefox to its original state when I am done? I have tried the "Reset Firefox" option at about:support without success—my bookmarks remain in the browser. Thank you

Chosen solution

Sync is not intended to be used in that type of situation; i.e., a computer that you don't 'control' or have exclusive use of. Even if you would be able to clear your bookmarks when you are finished with using that 'public' computer [like deleting them in batches via the Library window], the bookmarks backup that Firefox automatically creates wouldn't necessarily be deleted, any user who uses that PC after you might be able to restore your bookmarks. And gawd forbid that a user might be saving their Login data (Passwords) with Sync and be spreading that data to a public computer.

Yes, the Refresh feature doesn't delete bookmarks or Passwords; it's not intended to clear that type of data. Refresh wasn't made for that purpose. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/refresh-firefox-reset-add-ons-and-settings


Over all, I have misgivings about using a "public computer" that would even allow a user to connect to Firefox Sync and then would allow that Sync data to be 'sync'd' to that PC. IMO, those features should be locked down for the sake of security for the entire network that "public computer" is connected to.

Now, it is possible that public computer is set up to automatically reboot when a user finishes using it - like ejecting the access control card or credit card that was inserted to pay for access - and then upon boot-up a scanning process would automatically clear any data that was saved by the previous user.

Read this answer in context 1

Additional System Details

Installed Plug-ins

  • Google Update
  • The plugin allows you to have a better experience with Microsoft Lync
  • Next Generation Java Plug-in 11.40.2 for Mozilla browsers
  • NPRuntime Script Plug-in Library for Java(TM) Deploy
  • Shockwave Flash 17.0 r0
  • VLC media player Web Plugin
  • Adobe Shockwave for Director Netscape plug-in, version 12.1.7.157
  • Adobe PDF Plug-In For Firefox and Netscape 11.0.10
  • The QuickTime Plugin allows you to view a wide variety of multimedia content in Web pages. For more information, visit the QuickTime Web site.
  • iTunes Detector Plug-in
  • 5.1.30514.0
  • The plugin allows you to have a better experience with Microsoft SharePoint
  • Intel web components updater - Installs and updates the Intel web components

Application

  • User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:33.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/33.0

More Information

the-edmeister
  • Top 25 Contributor
  • Moderator
5411 solutions 40300 answers

Chosen Solution

Sync is not intended to be used in that type of situation; i.e., a computer that you don't 'control' or have exclusive use of. Even if you would be able to clear your bookmarks when you are finished with using that 'public' computer [like deleting them in batches via the Library window], the bookmarks backup that Firefox automatically creates wouldn't necessarily be deleted, any user who uses that PC after you might be able to restore your bookmarks. And gawd forbid that a user might be saving their Login data (Passwords) with Sync and be spreading that data to a public computer.

Yes, the Refresh feature doesn't delete bookmarks or Passwords; it's not intended to clear that type of data. Refresh wasn't made for that purpose. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/refresh-firefox-reset-add-ons-and-settings


Over all, I have misgivings about using a "public computer" that would even allow a user to connect to Firefox Sync and then would allow that Sync data to be 'sync'd' to that PC. IMO, those features should be locked down for the sake of security for the entire network that "public computer" is connected to.

Now, it is possible that public computer is set up to automatically reboot when a user finishes using it - like ejecting the access control card or credit card that was inserted to pay for access - and then upon boot-up a scanning process would automatically clear any data that was saved by the previous user.

Sync is not intended to be used in that type of situation; i.e., a computer that you don't 'control' or have exclusive use of. Even if you would be able to clear your bookmarks when you are finished with using that 'public' computer ''[like deleting them in batches via the Library window]'', the bookmarks backup that Firefox automatically creates wouldn't necessarily be deleted, any user who uses that PC after you might be able to restore your bookmarks. ''And gawd forbid that a user might be saving their Login data (Passwords) with Sync and be spreading that data to a public computer.'' Yes, the '''Refresh''' feature doesn't delete bookmarks ''or Passwords''; it's not intended to clear that type of data. Refresh wasn't made for that purpose. https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/refresh-firefox-reset-add-ons-and-settings ----------------- Over all, I have misgivings about using a "public computer" that would even allow a user to connect to Firefox Sync and then would allow that Sync data to be 'sync'd' to that PC. IMO, those features should be locked down for the sake of security for the entire network that "public computer" is connected to. Now, it is possible that public computer is set up to automatically reboot when a user finishes using it - like ejecting the access control card or credit card that was inserted to pay for access - and then upon boot-up a scanning process would automatically clear any data that was saved by the previous user.
cor-el
  • Top 10 Contributor
  • Moderator
17571 solutions 158919 answers

You would have to delete the places.sqlite database file in the Firefox profile folder and possible JSON backups in the bookmarkbackups folder to remove the bookmarks and history.

You can use this button to go to the current Firefox profile folder:

You would have to delete the places.sqlite database file in the Firefox profile folder and possible JSON backups in the bookmarkbackups folder to remove the bookmarks and history. You can use this button to go to the current Firefox profile folder: *Help > Troubleshooting Information > Profile Directory: Show Folder (Linux: Open Directory; Mac: Show in Finder) *http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder_-_Firefox