Is Product Testers ( url: http://www.consolelegends.com/NoName/) legitimate?
When I opened Firefox, got a popup from Product Testers asking 3 questions: gender, how many social networks I use, and how many hours/week do I spend on social networks. After answering the questions, I was given a choice of 3 too-good-to-be-true gifts: a $1000 gift card, and iPhone4 or an iPad. Then I was asked for cell phone and email address. I stopped at that point, beginning to question the wisdom of what I was doing and the validity of the request.
Chosen solution
by leo_Short answer: it's probably not legitimate.
Longer answer: anything on the internet that looks too good to be true probably is too good to be true - except for Firefox which is too good, but it is true :P
If the popup opened without you doing anything you may have some malware on your computer. Have a look here to see if you do, or if it's just a false alarm: Troubleshoot Firefox issues caused by malware
Read this answer in context 0Additional System Details
This happened
Just once or twice
This started when...
This morning, Tuesday, April 26, 2011, approx. 8:00 a.m. CDT
Installed Plug-ins
- Next Generation Java Plug-in 1.6.0_23 for Mozilla browsers
- Shockwave Flash 10.1 r85
- LogMeIn, Inc. Remote Access Components
- Adobe ESD Version Manager 2.0
- The QuickTime Plugin allows you to view a wide variety of multimedia content in Web pages. For more information, visit the QuickTime Web site.
- NPRuntime Script Plug-in Library for Java(TM) Deploy
- Default Plug-in
- Adobe PDF Plug-In For Firefox and Netscape "9.4.3"
- 6.0.12.1040
- RealPlayer(tm) LiveConnect-Enabled Plug-In
- RealJukebox Netscape Plugin
- Npdsplay dll
- DRM Store Netscape Plugin
- DRM Netscape Network Object
Application
- User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.2.13) Gecko/20101203 Firefox/3.6.13
More Information
Chosen Solution
Short answer: it's probably not legitimate.
Longer answer: anything on the internet that looks too good to be true probably is too good to be true - except for Firefox which is too good, but it is true :P
If the popup opened without you doing anything you may have some malware on your computer. Have a look here to see if you do, or if it's just a false alarm: Troubleshoot Firefox issues caused by malware
